AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
benlukes
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 1 of 3 (238 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't compile shapes

238 Views, 2 Replies
11-16-2012 09:10 AM

I have been trying to write my own shape file, but can't get it to compile.  I have used TextEdit to save the file as Unicode-7 and Unicode-8, and I have also used Smultron to save the file as Western (ASCII) and Non-Lossy ASCII.

Whenever I try to compile my Arrow.shp file, I am told that I have a "Bad shape definition at line 2", and that there is an "Invalid shape element, or bad syntax".

The text in my shape file is everything between the lines below.
------------------------------------------------------------------

*1,9,ARROW
080,8,(-2,1),02C,8,(2,1),0

------------------------------------------------------------------

I have also tried shapes that use pen up segments and ones that use no special codes at all, only hexadecimal ones.

Anyone know what I am doing wrong?

Hi,

 

A long time ago, when I was using AutoCAD version 12, there was a "golden" rule about shape file definition creation:

it is absolutely necessary to leave last line in text file blank, i.e. you have to hit Return (Enter) after last text line in shape definition file.

I successfully used TextEdit.app with default plain text encoding for creation ARROW.SHP

 

Maxim

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,088
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 3 (232 Views)

Re: Can't compile shapes

11-16-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: benlukes

Hi,

 

A long time ago, when I was using AutoCAD version 12, there was a "golden" rule about shape file definition creation:

it is absolutely necessary to leave last line in text file blank, i.e. you have to hit Return (Enter) after last text line in shape definition file.

I successfully used TextEdit.app with default plain text encoding for creation ARROW.SHP

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
benlukes
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 3 of 3 (214 Views)

Re: Can't compile shapes

11-19-2012 10:42 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Thank you, that did the trick.

If that isn't in the documentation (I didn't see it), it should definitely be added.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!