AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
rdafoe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 1 of 21 (2,395 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

2395 Views, 20 Replies
02-17-2014 11:57 AM

Hi,

I bought the mac app store version of autocad 2013 LT. I have not been able to get the menu bar to appear. I have tried the couple of suggestions for this problem I found online (repair permissions and using terminal program) and was not able to resolve the problem. Any ideas?

 

system is:

OS 10.9.1 mavericks

2.8Ghz Intel i7

16 GB RAM

see screen grab below- all i get in the top menu bar is the apple and autocad lt 2013, no 'File' etc etc

 

Thanks

autocad 2013 lt screen grab.jpg

Not sure that this could help, but you can try:

 

Quit AutoCAD (use AutoCAD LT -> Quit AutoCAD LT menu, or Cmd+Q)

Go to Applications folder on your Mac, find AutoCAD LT application, right-click on it and select "Show package contents", then use search field in Finder to find all CUI files inside AutoCAD LT app (type cui in search field).

This will give you something like:

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 23.36.43.png

 

Select PopMenuRoot.cui, Workflow.cui, Workspace.cui, MenuGroup.cui files and copy them to clipboard, then go to "~/Library/Application Support/Autodesk/roaming/AutoCAD LT 2013/R19.0/enu/Support" folder and paste this files here.

 

Start AutoCAD.

Can you see application menu now?

 

 

Maxim

 

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 21 (2,391 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

02-17-2014 12:03 PM in reply to: rdafoe
Welcome to Autodesk Forums!
Hi,

Could you check whether MenuGroup.cui, PopMenuRoot.cui, Workflow.cui files are in place inside "~/Library/Application Support/Autodesk/roaming/AutoCAD LT 2013/R19.0/enu/Support" folder?
The Library folder I mentioned is inside your Home folder and hidden by default.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
rdafoe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 3 of 21 (2,384 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

02-17-2014 12:29 PM in reply to: maxim_k
Hi,
Thanks for the quick response

in response to your reply:

Could you check whether MenuGroup.cui, PopMenuRoot.cui, Workflow.cui files are in place inside "~/Library/Application Support/Autodesk/roaming/AutoCAD LT 2013/R19.0/enu/Support" folder?
The Library folder I mentioned is inside your Home folder and hidden by default.

I checked that folder and none of the MenuGroup.cui, PopMenuRoot.cui, or Workflow.cui files are there.

Thanks
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 21 (2,371 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

02-17-2014 10:24 PM in reply to: rdafoe
It appears that you have permission problems in your account: AutoCAD can not write necessary files to your Library folder.
Could you try to create new admin account on your Mac, log in with this account and launch AutoCAD? Does the issue go away?
And another question: do you have the folders structure I mentioned in my previous post in your existing account?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
rdafoe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 5 of 21 (2,365 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

02-18-2014 11:01 AM in reply to: maxim_k
Thanks again but that did not resolve the launch problem..

I created a new admin account and logged in. Autocad still launched without the top main menu.

I have confirmed that I do have the file structure you previously asked me to navigate to, its just the 3 ?cui? files you mentioned are not present there.

Thanks
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 6 of 21 (2,358 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

02-18-2014 11:44 AM in reply to: rdafoe

Not sure that this could help, but you can try:

 

Quit AutoCAD (use AutoCAD LT -> Quit AutoCAD LT menu, or Cmd+Q)

Go to Applications folder on your Mac, find AutoCAD LT application, right-click on it and select "Show package contents", then use search field in Finder to find all CUI files inside AutoCAD LT app (type cui in search field).

This will give you something like:

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-18 at 23.36.43.png

 

Select PopMenuRoot.cui, Workflow.cui, Workspace.cui, MenuGroup.cui files and copy them to clipboard, then go to "~/Library/Application Support/Autodesk/roaming/AutoCAD LT 2013/R19.0/enu/Support" folder and paste this files here.

 

Start AutoCAD.

Can you see application menu now?

 

 

Maxim

 

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
rdafoe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 7 of 21 (2,353 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

02-18-2014 11:59 AM in reply to: maxim_k
Thanks, copying those files (PopMenuRoot.cui, Workflow.cui, Workspace.cui, MenuGroup.cui) over worked, the main menu bar is now showing up.

Thanks again for the help.
Member
ejames043
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-03-2014
Message 8 of 21 (2,056 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

04-03-2014 07:28 AM in reply to: rdafoe

NEED HELP ASAP! So my Mac Laptop ran out of juice on a flight while AUTOCAD was on. I saved my file, but now have no toolbars or menu bar when I open the program. I tried to locate the CUI files, but can't see any in the "Show Package Contents" file. Suggestions Please!

 

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 9 of 21 (2,050 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

04-03-2014 07:56 AM in reply to: rdafoe
Welcome to Autodesk Forums!

Hi,
Have you tried to search CUI files inside AutoCAD LT application as I suggested in my previous post?
If you are able to start AutoCAD you can also try to reset application options on Application tab of AutoCAD LT Preferences dialog (you can open this dialog by calling OPTIONS command from Command prompt.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
ejames043
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-03-2014
Message 10 of 21 (2,046 Views)

Re: Autocad Lt 2013 app store download- no menu bar

04-03-2014 10:15 AM in reply to: maxim_k

I found the cui files in the Library folder where you mentioned. There are no CUI files in the Autocad "Show Package Content" at all. I copied and pasted from the Library folder into the "Show Package Content", but it did not solve the problem.  I did, however, log out, create a new log in and was able to use AutoCAD from the new log in. This is good, but still a huge inconvenience. How do I fix the issue from my normal log in?

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.