AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
gregory
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Message 21 of 33 (1,430 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2103 and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

08-14-2012 09:35 AM in reply to: rcoggins

Thanks for the suggestion!  I've been buying macs and running windows on them since 2008!  I finally go rid of my last PC from 2006 (Sony vaio laptop) last month when I purchased the Retina Macbook Pro.  I've been trying out the AutoCAD for Mac to see if I finally make the switch from Windows to Mac.  I have to say that if I can work around some of the issues I'm definitely going to upgrade from my AutoCAD for windows 2010, by the end of the month to take advantage of old upgrade pricing and subscriptions promotions.

 

There are a lot of little thighs that are done differently in the Mac, like not being able to plot .PLT's drives me crazy!  Also, the preview PDF deal, not sure why...  Changing to a new layer and not having the default filters also kills me...

 

BTW, I stopped using ortho when Polar tracking came out, and that is working just fine in 2013 Mac...  I guess the real question for me is, am I wiling to work with work-arounds to get to know the software in this new operating system?  I do depend on it for work...  I'm trying to get a project out now, if I'm able to do it, I think I'll make the move to Mac, even if it's not perfect!

 

-G

Active Contributor
gregory
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Message 22 of 33 (1,430 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

08-14-2012 09:36 AM in reply to: maxim_k

hummmmm...  That's interesting!

 

-G

Valued Contributor
David_Stacey
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 23 of 33 (1,393 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

08-15-2012 03:20 PM in reply to: maxim_k
I've used AutoCAD on Windows for over 20 years and when it was released for the Mac I switched straight away. 2011 wasn't without its shortcomings but they've improved it considerably since.
Sure there are a few features not in the Mac version but I've managed to work around 95% of these.
If you're a Mac kind of guy then you won't regret switching.
Contributor
rcoggins
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Message 24 of 33 (1,391 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

08-15-2012 03:22 PM in reply to: David_Stacey
I agree I love working in Autocad for Mac ROBERT COGGINS Mobile Phone 918.633.5000 Email: robert.coggins@enginuityonline.com
Valued Contributor
David_Stacey
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 25 of 33 (1,384 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

08-15-2012 04:10 PM in reply to: maxim_k
I forgot to say I'm holding off upgrading to Mountain Lion until the next service pack has been released to support it. Then again, I might just wait until 2014 is shipped...
Active Contributor
gregory
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Message 26 of 33 (1,380 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

08-15-2012 04:55 PM in reply to: David_Stacey

I made a full back up before upgrading to Moutain Lion, so far i've been lucky and everything seems to be working well!  I think I will be upgrading for sure as I already traded my 3ds Max for Maya Mac last month!

 

-G

Active Member
182cadman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-02-2012
Message 27 of 33 (1,059 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

09-02-2012 01:13 AM in reply to: gregory

System was fine and working mostly, but now I can just leave a new blank model space there and then it just crashes, pretty poor really.

 

Getting tired of trying to work around what is a poor product.

 

Installed all 3 updates in 2011 and its still very bad :smileysad:

 

Contributor
mmany
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
Message 28 of 33 (937 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

09-12-2012 07:44 PM in reply to: maxim_k

I'm running 2013 on a new MBP Retina display.  I don't notice any fuzzyness in the drawing area, but my autoCAD window does develop a black zone at the top right corner from time to time and necessitates quitting out of the software to fix.  Also crashes when certain blocks are inserted.  Sometimes the cursor disappears as well.

 

Biggest problem for me is the things that are missing from Windows versions, which I didn't know about before going over to Mac this summer.  What's up with no 'flatten' command? I don't even know how to begin using this software without it.  Going back and forth between rhino and autocad, it's a must.

 

I've seen the suggested macros online but none of them seem to work, including the older lisp routines.  If anyone knows a sure-fire flatten work around, I would be really grateful to hear about it.

 

Autodesk should hand out free windows copies to us until this thing is working!

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,174
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 29 of 33 (931 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

09-12-2012 11:06 PM in reply to: mmany

Hi mmany,

 

Have you tried this:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-for-Mac/3d-to-2d/m-p/2927918#M1685

 

for flatten your drawings?

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
mmany
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
Message 30 of 33 (916 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac and Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)

09-13-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Thanks Maxim

 

I had tried that, but only after trying some other macro, and it didn't work for me.  Going back and trying again on a clean file it worked fine.  The macro must have screwed up that first file.  So, thanks - this did the trick!

 

M

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.