AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
charlv
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎01-28-2004
Message 1 of 9 (1,110 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

1110 Views, 8 Replies
09-07-2011 12:47 PM

Hi all,

 

I heard a rumour that if you own AutoCAD or a Suite that contain an AutoCAD that you can install AutoCAD for Mac 2012 and have it activated. Is this true? Can someone confirm this. Here's the blog that mentions this ...http://blog.jtbworld.com/2011/08/autocad-2012-for-mac-licensing-and.html

 

Thanks

Charl

 

 

page 5: FAQ

Yes.  That is correct.  It's no rumor.  If Jimmy posts it on his block, you can be assured that it is a fact. 

 

 

Active Contributor
raumpunkt
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 2 of 9 (1,086 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-08-2011 06:58 AM in reply to: charlv

page 5: FAQ

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,736
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 9 (1,057 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-09-2011 08:12 AM in reply to: charlv

Yes.  That is correct.  It's no rumor.  If Jimmy posts it on his block, you can be assured that it is a fact. 

 

 

Valued Contributor
charlv
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎01-28-2004
Message 4 of 9 (1,028 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-11-2011 11:27 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi,

 

Another Question - the document says that AutoCAD for MAc is available for Suite that has AutoCAD. Does this apply to a Suite like Product Design Suite as does not contain 'AutoCAD' but 'AutoCAD Mechanical'?

 

Thanks

charl

 

 

Active Contributor
raumpunkt
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 5 of 9 (940 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-16-2011 12:46 AM in reply to: charlv

Is it possible to activate AutoCAD 2012 for Windows with serial of AutoCAD 2012 for Mac ? Can anybody answer ? - Subscription Websupport was not able to help.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,736
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 9 (925 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-16-2011 08:00 AM in reply to: charlv
The way I understand it, the license is not platform specific.
Active Contributor
raumpunkt
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 7 of 9 (913 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-16-2011 12:25 PM in reply to: TravisNave

autocad 2012 for mac serial does not work in autocad 2012 for windows.

Valued Contributor
JohnRennie
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 8 of 9 (648 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

11-06-2011 05:02 PM in reply to: raumpunkt

Autodesk markets and sells them as completely different products, likely because the AutoCAD for MAC is so far behind in development terms from the PC version that they can't take direct comparison.

 

It means that if you use a MAC and AutoCAD for MAC at work you are unable to install a PC copy at home, if you own a PC, either under the home user scheme or by using the license tranfer utility.

 

Not exactly easy to live with and comes nowhere close to giving the customers what they need.

 

Active Contributor
raumpunkt
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 9 of 9 (618 Views)

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

11-09-2011 06:14 AM in reply to: JohnRennie

 Autodesk FAQ for AutoCAD 2012:

 

3.9 Can I transfer my AutoCAD license between platforms (from AutoCAD to AutoCAD for Mac)?

Yes. Customers with licenses of AutoCAD 2012 can now activate AutoCAD 2012 for Mac with the same license number and activation code. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.