AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
78 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-28-2004
Post 1 of 9
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

1117 Views, 8 Replies
09-07-2011 12:47 PM

Hi all,

 

I heard a rumour that if you own AutoCAD or a Suite that contain an AutoCAD that you can install AutoCAD for Mac 2012 and have it activated. Is this true? Can someone confirm this. Here's the blog that mentions this ...http://blog.jtbworld.com/2011/08/autocad-2012-for-mac-licensing-and.html

 

Thanks

Charl

 

 

page 5: FAQ

Yes.  That is correct.  It's no rumor.  If Jimmy posts it on his block, you can be assured that it is a fact. 

 

 

Active Contributor
27 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Post 2 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-08-2011 06:58 AM in reply to: charlv

page 5: FAQ

*Expert Elite*
10,911 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 3 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-09-2011 08:12 AM in reply to: charlv

Yes.  That is correct.  It's no rumor.  If Jimmy posts it on his block, you can be assured that it is a fact. 

 

 

Valued Contributor
78 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-28-2004
Post 4 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-11-2011 11:27 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi,

 

Another Question - the document says that AutoCAD for MAc is available for Suite that has AutoCAD. Does this apply to a Suite like Product Design Suite as does not contain 'AutoCAD' but 'AutoCAD Mechanical'?

 

Thanks

charl

 

 

Active Contributor
27 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Post 5 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-16-2011 12:46 AM in reply to: charlv

Is it possible to activate AutoCAD 2012 for Windows with serial of AutoCAD 2012 for Mac ? Can anybody answer ? - Subscription Websupport was not able to help.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
10,911 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 6 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-16-2011 08:00 AM in reply to: charlv
The way I understand it, the license is not platform specific.
Active Contributor
27 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Post 7 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

09-16-2011 12:25 PM in reply to: TravisNave

autocad 2012 for mac serial does not work in autocad 2012 for windows.

Valued Contributor
95 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Post 8 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

11-06-2011 05:02 PM in reply to: raumpunkt

Autodesk markets and sells them as completely different products, likely because the AutoCAD for MAC is so far behind in development terms from the PC version that they can't take direct comparison.

 

It means that if you use a MAC and AutoCAD for MAC at work you are unable to install a PC copy at home, if you own a PC, either under the home user scheme or by using the license tranfer utility.

 

Not exactly easy to live with and comes nowhere close to giving the customers what they need.

 

Active Contributor
27 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Post 9 of 9

Re: AutoCAD for Mac 2012 Licensing query

11-09-2011 06:14 AM in reply to: JohnRennie

 Autodesk FAQ for AutoCAD 2012:

 

3.9 Can I transfer my AutoCAD license between platforms (from AutoCAD to AutoCAD for Mac)?

Yes. Customers with licenses of AutoCAD 2012 can now activate AutoCAD 2012 for Mac with the same license number and activation code. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!