AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
daz9096
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 1 of 11 (1,517 Views)

Autocad 2012 with lion

1517 Views, 10 Replies
08-22-2011 01:13 AM

Hi,

 

I have installed autocad 2012 on to my imac wich allready had lion on, but there appears to be the same issue that were around with 2011 and lion, has any one else tried 2012 with lion?

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,168
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 11 (1,507 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-22-2011 03:55 AM in reply to: daz9096

Hi,

 

Which issue you do you mean?

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
daz9096
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 3 of 11 (1,504 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-22-2011 04:03 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hi Maxim,

 

The main one at the moment is when you select an object and want to move it, the 2nd image that you are moving before placing it takes time to appear, and then once its appeared if you move again its gone. Hope that makes sense to you.

 

Darren

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,168
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 11 (1,485 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-22-2011 05:51 AM in reply to: daz9096

So you mean, that you have problems with "dragged objects" during MOVE command. Personally - I have never had such a problem, even in complex drawings, even when I move a lot of objects.

Try to check Visual style in your drawings if it is set to Wireframe (not 2D Wireframe) - yes you will have great video performance degrade in complex 2D drawings.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
daz9096
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 5 of 11 (1,482 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-22-2011 06:02 AM in reply to: maxim_k

thanks maxim thats cured it.

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,168
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 6 of 11 (1,466 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-22-2011 07:20 AM in reply to: daz9096

BTW - even in AutoCAD 2012 for Windows operations with large amount of 2D objects are extremely awkward while visual style is other then 2D Wireframe

 

Max

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
andrea.durzo
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 7 of 11 (1,452 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-22-2011 08:59 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hi guys, i tried to install the trial version of 2012 on my mac with Lion and after 5 o 10 seconds it crash. Have you some reports of it?

Contributor
andrea.durzo
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 8 of 11 (1,365 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-23-2011 01:33 AM in reply to: andrea.durzo

another little bug: 

 

the click and drag selection doesn't work, also if i select it in preferences.

 

(sorry for my wnglish, i'm italian)

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,168
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 9 of 11 (1,359 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-23-2011 02:35 AM in reply to: andrea.durzo

Hi Andrea,

 

In fact it is not a bug, it is one of the new features.

In AC for Mac 2011, PICKDRAG system variable could be either 0 or 1, 0 - for "two click" selection and 1 - for "click and drag" selection.

But now, in 2012, it could be 2 also, that combines two methods of selection.

 

From HELP:

 

PICKDRAG

Controls the method of drawing a selection window.

Type:Integer
Saved in:Registry
Initial value:2

0

Create a selection window using two points. Click once to begin a selection window, click again to complete the selection.

1

Create a selection window clicking and dragging. Release the mouse button to complete the selection.

2

Create a selection window using either of the methods above.



When you check "Click and drag" in Preferences, you set PICKDRAG=2.

Now if you want to start selection with "two clicks" pick point and release mouse, then pick second point for selection. If you want to "drag" - pick point and don't release mouse button, drag until you need, then release button - selection done. One tip: there should be delay after picking first point in order the "drag" method begin to work, you should experiment with your sense.

 

HTH

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
andrea.durzo
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 10 of 11 (1,299 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 with lion

08-24-2011 12:01 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Thank you very much maxim. And for the other problem (the very big problem)? the first crash after few minute when i tried to to use page setup manager. and after it... always crash! it could be compatible with lion, or not?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.