AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
dfandrews
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2013
Message 1 of 3 (308 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding text to a dimension

308 Views, 2 Replies
01-31-2014 06:37 AM

I'm using AC LT 2014 on Macbook Pro with Mavericks.  

 

I'm trying to add additional text to an existing dimension line.  I go to the text override box in Properties and type '<> verify in field' followed by enter.  The change takes place in the drawing area but it is so small you can't read it.  I can't figure out how to maintain the text size of the original dimension.

You control the size of dimension text via Dimension Style settings (for
all dimensions of the same Dim Style in the drawing). Go to menu Format->
Dimension style, in dialog select style you are using, select Edit from
"gear" menu above Dim style list, go tobText tab, change text height (this
height will work if the height of Text Style you are using for this Dim
style is 0 - zero). In the drawing the text height will be actually
multiple of DIMSCALE variable and value of text height you just set - this
is true for non-annoy active Dim style.
You can also modify text height for individual dimension in the drawing -
select dimension, go to Properties palette, select All tab, scroll down to
Text section and change text height.

Maxim


--
Thanks,
Maxim

Sent from my iPhone
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 4,088
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 3 (302 Views)

Re: Adding text to a dimension

01-31-2014 07:04 AM in reply to: dfandrews
You control the size of dimension text via Dimension Style settings (for
all dimensions of the same Dim Style in the drawing). Go to menu Format->
Dimension style, in dialog select style you are using, select Edit from
"gear" menu above Dim style list, go tobText tab, change text height (this
height will work if the height of Text Style you are using for this Dim
style is 0 - zero). In the drawing the text height will be actually
multiple of DIMSCALE variable and value of text height you just set - this
is true for non-annoy active Dim style.
You can also modify text height for individual dimension in the drawing -
select dimension, go to Properties palette, select All tab, scroll down to
Text section and change text height.

Maxim


--
Thanks,
Maxim

Sent from my iPhone
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
dfandrews
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-23-2013
Message 3 of 3 (291 Views)

Re: Adding text to a dimension

01-31-2014 09:38 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Thank you for the quick reply.  I had already defined both a Dimension Style along with a corresponding Text Style.  It turns out the the text style I had defined was not set to 0.  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!