AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wires, osnaps and associated things

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
MustangSam
383 Views, 3 Replies

Wires, osnaps and associated things

Morning all,

First of all I am a relative newbie to electrical, I have always worked in straight forward autocad,

My main issue at the moment is with entering wires, why, when you draw a wire in does it follow in the x and y axis? I apreciate wires are drawn at 90 degrees, but why does it not just follow a to b in the x axis or y axis, it makes drawing unnessesarily fiddly in my opinion, having to go back all the time and trim off all the minute little tags that collect on the end of the last wire drawn.

secondly osnaps with wires, select a wire and select your start point and the o snap apears, fine, but why why WWHHHHHYYY not when you choose your end point? eg, if you want to select a terminal block you cannot select the end point as you would in basic. also is there any way you can set it up so that it does snap to your chosen end poitn? its driving me up the wall right now, Im constantly having to persist and resist the temptation to jack it in and revert back to basic, it seems to me to be a sight more straight forward.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
johnq
in reply to: MustangSam

Hi Mustang Sam

I can understand you feelings.

My first project with ACE2010 was an electronic circuit.  Now that I am developing a roudy relationship with ACE (hostility has wained) I feel it is not suitable for Electronic diagrams.

I am now on ACE2012.

Some of the changes I have had to learn swapping from a CAD style electrical program where it was not necessary to draw on a grid, are:

You must decide on a grid spacing and draw on that grid.