AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Vulcan1970
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-31-2012
Message 1 of 3 (288 Views)

WIRE FROM TO REPORT ADD COMPONENT DESC1 THROUGH 3

288 Views, 2 Replies
12-07-2012 09:10 AM

IS THERE A WAY TO INCLUDE THE COMPONENT DESCRIPTION TO THE WIRE FROM TO REPORT?

 

I AM WANTING TO INCLUDE THE DESCRIPTION BECAUSE I NEED A WAY TO DISTINGUSH BETWEEN MULTIPLES OF THE SAME COMPONENTS WHEN THEY ARE IN DIFFERENT LOCATIONS. EX. I HAVE SET THE LOCATION CODE FOR 20 LIGHTS TO "FIELD." EACH LIGHT HAS A UNIQUE NAME THAT DESCRIBES ITS LOCATION "MOTOTR XYZ LIGHT" I DO NOT WANT TO GIVE EACH OF THEM DIFFERNT LOCATION CODES BECAUSE THEN I WOULD HAVE TO CREATE A TAG TO PUT ON THE JUNCTION BOX THAT RELATES TO THE COMPONENT.

 

IF THERE IS A BETTER WAY OF DOING THIS PLEASE LET ME KNOW. I REALLY DONT WANT TO HAVE TO GENERATE THE TAGS AND TAG NAMES

 

 

I HAVE SAW THE LISP ROUTINE IN "WIREFROM/TO REPORT" DATED 07-15-2004

I HAVE NOT TRIED TO GET THIS TO WORK SINCE IT SEEMS OUTDATED

 

I AM RUNNING AE 2013

 

 

 

ALSO, 

HOW DO I CHANGE THE NAME OF THE USER 1 FIELD IN THE DEFAULT_CAT?

 

THANK YOU

 

Contributor
bpasqualini
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 2 of 3 (245 Views)

Re : WIRE FROM TO REPORT ADD COMPONENT DESC1 THROUGH 3

12-17-2012 06:18 AM in reply to: Vulcan1970

Hi,

 

For your second question, use ACCESS.

Open the default_cat.mdb and rename the fiels USER1 in every family table.

 

Best regards

Active Contributor
Vulcan1970
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-31-2012
Message 3 of 3 (244 Views)

Re : WIRE FROM TO REPORT ADD COMPONENT DESC1 THROUGH 3

12-17-2012 06:25 AM in reply to: bpasqualini

Thank you, changing the name in each table worked 

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.