AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
New Member
Jonez999
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 1 of 3 (4,056 Views)

Where to download component libraries

4056 Views, 2 Replies
10-27-2010 05:01 AM

I'm very new to AutoCAD so sorry if this is a silly question.

 

I need a symbol for a 4 pole breaker, see attached. Is there a site I can download it from? If not How do I create it?

 

Do you know of any good tutorials?

 

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,184
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 3 (4,025 Views)

Re: Where to download component libraries

10-27-2010 01:05 PM in reply to: Jonez999

I assume you mean AutoCAD Electrical and not plain AutoCAD?  Electrical has 4-pole breakers in the IEC library already.  Or you could insert a 3-pole and add an additional pole using the 2nd+ symbols, which are for adding additional poles to existing symbols.  See attached screen shots from the menu.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,184
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 3 of 3 (4,023 Views)

Re: Where to download component libraries

10-27-2010 01:26 PM in reply to: Jonez999

You can use the Symbol Builder to make your own symbols if you wish.  There is a tutorial in the Help menu.  I highly recommend classroom hands-on training if you wish to get the most from Electrical.  The menu in Electrical is probably 85% Electrical. AutoCAD is only the drafting engine.  It's no different from when we used to buy Electrical as a separate product and add it to AutoCAD.  We still had to take training for the Electrical add-in.  Back then it was from VIA and before that it was CimLogic.  Autodesk simply installs AutoCAD and Electrical together so you don't have to perform two separate installations.  But don't expect any previous knowledge of plain AutoCAD to circumvent the need for formal training on Electrical.  You can purchase promis-e and add to AutoCAD but you still need training for promis-e.  It's the same with Electrical.  This is why so many who move from AutoCAD to Electrical get lost and never get the productivity that they should.  They reason that because it has the word AutoCAD in its name that it works the same as AutoCAD.  It uses the AutoCAD drafting engine, but Electrical is a series of relational databases which record and process drawing data, which is stored in special attributes inside the drawing and the "smart" symbols.  But a lack of proper formal training often results in people who use electrical as little more than a glorified symbol library.

 

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.