AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sgsawdy
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 1 of 10 (584 Views)

wd_dinrl

584 Views, 9 Replies
06-17-2008 12:37 PM
Hey Nate. Is there some way we can get the wd_dinrl api modified so it will add the attribute "LENGTH" and automatically enter the length of the rail or duct being created? Currently you are adding Rating1 and Rating2 but by adding the Length we could then include that in our BOM reports.

We are currently using ACADE 2008.

Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
sgsawdy
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 2 of 10 (584 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

06-26-2008 04:02 AM in reply to: sgsawdy
Anyone home?
*Pat Murnen
Message 3 of 10 (584 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

07-07-2008 06:56 AM in reply to: sgsawdy
When the Din Rail is drawn in, AcadE adds the attributes from the block
wd_ptag_addattr_comp.dwg. This is where the RATING attributes come from. You
can add the LENGTH attribute to this block if you want. That means that the
LENGTH attribute will be added on any panel component though (excluding
panel terminals). No value would be added but when the Insert/Edit dialog
comes up you can select Show/Edit Miscellaneous and add a value. Not exactly
what you were looking for but works without any programming updates.

Pat Murnen


wrote in message news:5959606@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hey Nate. Is there some way we can get the wd_dinrl api modified so it will
add the attribute "LENGTH" and automatically enter the length of the rail or
duct being created? Currently you are adding Rating1 and Rating2 but by
adding the Length we could then include that in our BOM reports.

We are currently using ACADE 2008.

Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
sgsawdy
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 4 of 10 (584 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

07-07-2008 07:04 AM in reply to: sgsawdy
Thanks for getting back to me on this Pat. I wound up creating a lisp routine to add the attribute and the length once the din rail or wire duct is drawn. I will attach it in case it can be useful to anyone else.

How it works is after you are done drawing your din rail or wire duct you have to launch the lisp routine, pick the block you want to add the length attribute to and then pick the endpoint of the same block. This measures the distance from the startpoint to the endpoint you picked and places that value in the LENGTH attribute it adds to the block.

Is it possible to have this added to the wish list for future releases?

Scott
*Pat Murnen
Message 5 of 10 (584 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

07-07-2008 08:03 AM in reply to: sgsawdy
I can log this. Basically you want a way to have the length of the dinrail
added to the block as it is built and then have it reported in the Bill of
Materials report. I am assuming that if you have multiple pieces of the same
catalog type din rail that you would want the report to add the lengths
together.

Remember, logging an item only means that it will be considered for a future
release.

Pat


wrote in message news:5974736@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks for getting back to me on this Pat. I wound up creating a lisp
routine to add the attribute and the length once the din rail or wire duct
is drawn. I will attach it in case it can be useful to anyone else.

How it works is after you are done drawing your din rail or wire duct you
have to launch the lisp routine, pick the block you want to add the length
attribute to and then pick the endpoint of the same block. This measures
the distance from the startpoint to the endpoint y
ou picked and places that value in the LENGTH attribute it adds to the
block.

Is it possible to have this added to the wish list for future releases?

Scott
Distinguished Contributor
sgsawdy
Posts: 411
Registered: ‎09-19-2005
Message 6 of 10 (584 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

07-07-2008 08:11 AM in reply to: sgsawdy
That is exactly what we want Pat.

Isn't that why it is called a "wish list".

Scott
New Member
alishaf
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-09-2012
Message 7 of 10 (411 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

11-09-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: sgsawdy

I ran the lisp file and it added the length attribute. Is there a way to get this info into the BOM quantity?

Active Contributor
priva2
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-02-2010
Message 8 of 10 (270 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

01-06-2014 07:36 AM in reply to: alishaf

I to am wondering if this has either been added in newer versions of AutoCAD or how to have the Bill Of Materials add them all up for a BOM or purchase list report.

Mentor
ccad2509
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 9 of 10 (223 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

01-09-2014 12:36 AM in reply to: sgsawdy

Something I did in plain autocad will work as a workaround

I did some work for a company that insisted the backplate layouts were in plain autocad

What I did was set up a data extraction

Which could find the block then extract all the data and then you can filter the information you want?

I.e.. Attributes /block data and geometry etc.

From this you can get a block x,y,z length and other useful information

This can be put into the drawing as a spreadsheet or exported out as data

This could be set up as a separate list of trucking and din rail used in a project

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Active Contributor
priva2
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-02-2010
Message 10 of 10 (212 Views)

Re: wd_dinrl

01-09-2014 05:51 AM in reply to: ccad2509

This does seem like a possible solution.  By default we have no length attribute defined.  I will need to work on a way to define that.  Soneone posted an lsp file to add lengths to din rail.  I may also try using regular autocad to see it can automatically get lengths. 

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.