AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
gvang
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 1 of 6 (598 Views)

Updating drawing name value (the %D value)

598 Views, 5 Replies
02-02-2009 02:59 PM
I've been a long time user of ACE 08 but have never set-up the 'dwgnam" value in the title block. I recently figure that in order to make off-page wire referencing work, I would need to set the "dwgnam" attribute in the title block and have done so. My question is is the "dwgnam" suppose to auto update upon doing a project "title block update" (similar to the "sheet" value)? It seems to work if I manually type in the drawing name from drawing properties. Please let me know how this value works and how it gets updated.
*Brad Coleman
Message 2 of 6 (598 Views)

Re: Updating drawing name value (the %D value)

02-02-2009 09:02 PM in reply to: gvang

To get the dwgnam to update, the data has to
present in the 'Drawing' box in the sheet values section of the drawing
settings. When you do a 'Title Block Update', you need to select the check box
next to 'Drawing (%D value)'. This will let the function know to update this
value.

 

I assume you have the drawing attribute mapped to
drawing setting in your title block setup...

 

Regards Brad

 



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">I've
been a long time user of ACE 08 but have never set-up the 'dwgnam" value in
the title block. I recently figure that in order to make off-page wire
referencing work, I would need to set the "dwgnam" attribute in the title
block and have done so. My question is is the "dwgnam" suppose to auto update
upon doing a project "title block update" (similar to the "sheet" value)? It
seems to work if I manually type in the drawing name from drawing properties.
Please let me know how this value works and how it gets
updated.
Active Contributor
gvang
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 6 (598 Views)

Re: Updating drawing name value (the %D value)

02-03-2009 08:44 AM in reply to: gvang
Brad,



When you say...data has to be present in the "drawing" box in the sheet value sections of the drawing setting, are you saying that this data has to be manually inputted for each drawing from that location? My question is does the drawing value (%D value) auto update...similar to that of the sheet value (%S value) when doing a "title block update"? Yes, the check-box is checked and the attribute is mapped correctly (see below for "wd_tb" setting). let me know your thoughts.





( OWNER = LINE1;JOBTITLE = LINE2;CONTENT = LINE3;ENG = LINE4;DFT = LINE5;STATUS = LINE6;DATE = LINE7;JOB = LINE8;SHT = SHEET;MAX = SHEETMAX;FILE = FILENAME;SECT = DWGSEC;DESC1 = DD1;DESC2 = DD2;DESC3 = DD3;R1 = LINE18;R1DATE = LINE19;R1BY = LINE20;R1DESC = LINE21;R2 = LINE22;R2DATE = LINE23;R2BY = LINE24;R2DESC = LINE25;R3 = LINE26;R3DATE = LINE27;R3BY = LINE28;R3DESC = LINE29;R4 = LINE30;R4DATE = LINE31;R4BY = LINE32;R4DESC = LINE33;DSTAMP = PLOTDATE;TSTAMP = PLOTTIME;{color:#ff0000}DWG = DWGNAM ){color}
*Brad Coleman
Message 4 of 6 (598 Views)

Re: Updating drawing name value (the %D value)

02-03-2009 03:31 PM in reply to: gvang

OK...

 

No the drawing value does not auto update. It
actually represents the drawing number/name. It has to be set once in that
position to for each dwg. This makes it possible to have dwgs that use letters
in the dwg number with no problems.

 

Regards Brad


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Brad,



When
you say...data has to be present in the "drawing" box in the sheet value
sections of the drawing setting, are you saying that this data has to be
manually inputted for each drawing from that location? My question is does the
drawing value (%D value) auto update...similar to that of the sheet value (%S
value) when doing a "title block update"? Yes, the check-box is checked and
the attribute is mapped correctly (see below for "wd_tb" setting). let me know
your thoughts.





( OWNER = LINE1;JOBTITLE = LINE2;CONTENT
= LINE3;ENG = LINE4;DFT = LINE5;STATUS = LINE6;DATE = LINE7;JOB = LINE8;SHT =
SHEET;MAX = SHEETMAX;FILE = FILENAME;SECT = DWGSEC;DESC1 = DD1;DESC2 =
DD2;DESC3 = DD3;R1 = LINE18;R1DATE = LINE19;R1BY = LINE20;R1DESC = LINE21;R2 =
LINE22;R2DATE = LINE23;R2BY = LINE24;R2DESC = LINE25;R3 = LINE26;R3DATE =
LINE27;R3BY = LINE28;R3DESC = LINE29;R4 = LINE30;R4DATE = LINE31;R4BY =
LINE32;R4DESC = LINE33;DSTAMP = PLOTDATE;TSTAMP = PLOTTIME;{color:#ff0000}DWG
= DWGNAM ){color}
Active Member
tonymynd
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Message 5 of 6 (463 Views)

Re: Updating drawing name value (the %D value)

11-01-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: gvang

Hello Gvang!

 

I tryed many ways and still can't make AutoCAD Electrical to automatically update the Drawing value, this way my file name would be automatically inserted in all my references. WHICH IS GREAT

 

Why? BECAUSE I DON'T have to manually input the values in the Drawin text box on each drawing properties Dialog Box and the Magic here is tha I CAN USE %D in all my xrefs !

 

Please see atachment, I'm hoping you can see my problem

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 972
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 6 of 6 (454 Views)

Re: Updating drawing name value (the %D value)

11-01-2012 07:46 PM in reply to: tonymynd

Generally, once you set the dwg number, it does not change. The sheet number can change depending on various things which is why this will update automatically when the correct command is used.

 

Whenever I start a new dwg, this is one of the setting I fill in, along with all the other settings in this dialog.

 

The company I work for uses a three part dwg number so I have three attribute set up in the title block.

The first part is the Project (or job) number (6 characters), followed by the dwg number (2 characters), finally followed by the sheet number (also 2 characters).

 

The project number is set in the Project descriptions and doesn't change from dwg to dwg.

However, both the dwg number and the sheet number are set in the drawing settings. The dwg number also will not change but the sheet number will as it is moved around in the sheet set for that particular dwg.

 

In your situatuation, you may want to have the attribute you mapped for the dwg number to actually be mapped to the filename. This will then automatically update the number you see on the dwg when you run the title block update... You just need to make sure the checkbox is selected for it.

 

Only problem is this will not affect your sheet references. You may have to try putting the %F in your cross reference setup. However you will have to do a full project cross reference update each time your filename updates.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.