AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
*Carl Smith
Message 1 of 8 (105 Views)

Tag format

105 Views, 7 Replies
04-07-2004 06:34 AM
Componant attributs tags are forced to by upper case. Is there a switch to allow lower case attribute tags like there is for the description text? CDS
*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,104
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Tag format

04-07-2004 08:33 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
I think that that is hardcoded and not switchable.
Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Active Contributor
lauraw
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎04-01-2004
Message 3 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Tag format

04-07-2004 11:42 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
open project dialog, select misc settings button, uncheck force descx to uppercase.
this allowed lowercase text in my component tag name.
descx first made me think it applied only to the desc tags but seems to apply to component tag also.

think this should do it...

thx
*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,104
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 4 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Tag format

04-07-2004 11:45 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
I also thought that was only for DESC. Thanks for the info.
Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
*Carl Smith
Message 5 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Tag format

04-07-2004 01:11 PM in reply to: *Carl Smith
I still cant get this to work. The discription is lower case, but the TAG is still all caps. I want a coil relay to display as aCR741 for example. Setting the tag format to a%F%N still gets me ACR741. CDS "lauraw" wrote in message news:22992249.1081363408740.JavaMail.javamailuser@localhost... > open project dialog, select misc settings button, uncheck force descx to uppercase. > this allowed lowercase text in my component tag name. > descx first made me think it applied only to the desc tags but seems to apply to component tag also. > > think this should do it... > > thx
Active Contributor
lauraw
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎04-01-2004
Message 6 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Tag format

04-08-2004 06:50 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
I see what you mean...
I looked for an easy fix but didn't find one, what did work for me was to re-create the block for the coil. Dor the default for tag1 I typed in aCR. Then with the auto-tagging my tagname appeared as aCR001. I did first try to assign the family name to aCR but was automatically forced to uppercase. With a lowercase "a" in the tag1 default, the resulting tag remained as lowercase. I'm not sure if this is what you want. Maybe others have a better solution.

Laura
New Member
RickP2
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-26-2004
Message 7 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Tag format

08-26-2004 07:25 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
On a similiar note, in my installation, all my component tags have a dash '-' in front of them. ie. -CR501

Others here do not have it and I cant figure out how to get rid of the dash.

Any help?
*Steve Kemp \(Autodesk\)
Message 8 of 8 (105 Views)

Re: Tag format

08-26-2004 07:58 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
It could be that IEC tagging mode is toggled on, on your machine. To check this, go to pull-down menu 'Projects->Project->Project New/Existing' and select the 'Miscellaneous Settings'. On the 'Miscellaneous Project Settings' dialog, see if the first option 'Combined Installation/Location and component Tag mode (IEC-style)' is toggled on. If so, and you do not require this option, try toggling this option off and see if the issue goes away. If this is not the problem, it could be that there is a '-' character in your 'Component Tagging' setup. To verify, select 'Drawing Configuration' from the 'Projects' pull-down menu and verify the settings in the 'Component Tagging' section for 'Tag format'. Steve "RickP2" wrote in message news:29226701.1093530360885.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > On a similiar note, in my installation, all my component tags have a dash '-' in front of them. ie. -CR501 > > Others here do not have it and I cant figure out how to get rid of the dash. > > Any help?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.