AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
iomaxx
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎03-03-2006
Message 1 of 8 (917 Views)

symbol for pneumatic manifold?

917 Views, 7 Replies
05-15-2012 10:23 AM

I'm wondering if anyone is aware of a pneumatic symbol for a multi-station solenoid manifold. I looked through the pneumatic components dialog box in ACADE, and it lists 3way and 4way valves, but no manifolds of 3way or 4way valves, other than a generic box with X number of holes on it. I was asked to use a 'standardized' symbol on our pneumatic drawings, but haven't found anything for a manifold of several 3way valves. I could just insert several of the 3way valve symbols, but it wouldn't be the clearest since they all share a common supply and exhaust port. Has anyone found or created something to accomodate this?

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,222
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 8 (910 Views)

Re: symbol for pneumatic manifold?

05-15-2012 05:59 PM in reply to: iomaxx

You can insert several of the 3-way valves, explode them and use Symbol Builder to compile them into one symbol.  Get rid of the redundant attributes.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
iomaxx
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎03-03-2006
Message 3 of 8 (906 Views)

Re: symbol for pneumatic manifold?

05-15-2012 06:08 PM in reply to: iomaxx
That's what I ended up doing, was just a pain for a 10station manifold, but all set now.
Thanks.
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,222
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 8 (904 Views)

Re: symbol for pneumatic manifold?

05-15-2012 06:13 PM in reply to: iomaxx

Autodesk provides a good sampling of many types of symbols, but certain designs require that we create our own.  I like making symbols.  It allows me to be creative.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
iomaxx
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎03-03-2006
Message 5 of 8 (902 Views)

Re: symbol for pneumatic manifold?

05-15-2012 06:14 PM in reply to: iomaxx
Agreed, just thought I'd check before starting on my own.
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,222
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 6 of 8 (899 Views)

Re: symbol for pneumatic manifold?

05-15-2012 06:45 PM in reply to: iomaxx

It's always a good idea to check.  This is a forum for sharing and learning.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
controlsgirl
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-07-2012
Message 7 of 8 (677 Views)

Re: symbol for pneumatic manifold?

01-22-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

I need to make a three station manifold symbol. This little thread has inspired me to possibly try and make something like the parametric PLC symbols.

Distinguished Contributor
iomaxx
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎03-03-2006
Message 8 of 8 (671 Views)

Re: symbol for pneumatic manifold?

01-22-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: controlsgirl

that's a good idea, but does the Parametric PLC route allow to use different parametric symbols for building different brands (or in this case, devices)?

I was under the assumption that the "project properties -> styles" tab restricts you to selecting a specific style for your PLC figures for that project. Would you have to change that selection when you insert a manifold (assuming you just changed style #9 or something for pneumatic use) and then change it back to your standard style # when you want to insert an actual PLC? Or can you override that in the PLC database file editor so certain figures are tied to certain items in the PLC database, regardless of the project default? If you look into it, i'd be curious what comes of it...

 

I ended up creating "single-station" manifolds that i could insert one a time to get to the quantity i wanted, and also some common manifold quantities i use, such as a 6 and 10 station manifold, etc. If your manifold is one part number (mine are), I just make the first "single-station" as the 3-station part number in the catalog data fields, and the other two manifolds are just empty of catalog-data.I suppose you could also make child manifolds for the other two after the parent. it'd be like a relay coil that's the same no matter how many poles it has.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.