AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

dlack
Message 1 of 11 (746 Views)

Symbol Builder - Attribute Editor Pins List Not Displaying?

746 Views, 10 Replies
09-26-2011 08:15 AM

Hi,

I'm new to Autocad Electrical and especially the symbol builder.

I have created a symbol and added pins using the Attribute Editor - Wire Connections dialog. Then I did Symbol Builder - Done and saved the symbol. I could insert it into the schematic, etc.

However, when I reopen the symbol in Symbol Builder, the pin attributes no longer show up in the Pins list under Attribute Editor. This is a problem because when I try to enter new pins into this symbol, it is duplicating the attribute tags (for example, I will have two separate TERM01 tags.

Is there a way to get the pins list to see pins that already exist in the symbol when it is opened? Am I missing something else?

In the attached image you can see that the pins list only contains the new pin I added, and not the previously existing pins.

dlack
Message 2 of 11 (741 Views)

Re: Symbol Builder - Attribute Editor Pins List Not Displaying?

09-26-2011 10:38 AM in reply to: dlack

Just wanted to update. This seems to be associated with using the Wire Connection - Style - Others ... Drop-Down. Any terminals that I create using this dialog seem to be "forgotten" by the pins list when re-opening the symbol in sybol builder. Any terminals I create buy just using the generic styles in the drop down are remembered.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Dustin

Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Message 3 of 11 (715 Views)

09-28-2011 11:53 PM in reply to: dlack

Hello Dustin,

I tried the similar workflow in Symbol Builder in ACE2012, but didn't see your problem. Please check the following video, and let me know if it is the same workflow with yours.

http://screencast.com/t/bdUqT3C70

Thanks,
Robin Shou
Quality Assurance

AutoCAD Electrical

Autodesk, Inc.

dlack
Message 4 of 11 (687 Views)