AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor HAZ
Active Contributor
HAZ
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Message 1 of 25 (8,515 Views)

Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

8515 Views, 24 Replies
05-17-2011 11:24 PM

Is it any way to get old snap behavior activated in AutoCAD 2012?

I run some scripts which depend on the old snap behavior.

Best regards

HAZ

HAZ
Employee
KevinLi-Autodesk
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 2 of 25 (8,502 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-18-2011 01:51 AM in reply to: HAZ

Hi,

 

If you use Autocad Electrical 2012, try to patch the hotfix from: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=16822624&linkID=9240738 to revert back to old behavior.

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor HAZ
Active Contributor
HAZ
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Message 3 of 25 (8,475 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-18-2011 10:19 PM in reply to: KevinLi-Autodesk

Thank you for your suggestion, I acutely install this Hotfix, but it works on just some cases.

It doesn't activate the snap before start the command.

I acutely use Autocrat Electrical 2012, but in addition have many scripts which run on AutoCAD Electrical 2011 easily.

Some of these scripts count f.eks. 3 snap to right then do something (based on my defined snaps on active drawing).

I tried to find some setting in AutoCAD Electrical 2012 which can activate the snap like AutoCAD Electrical 2011, but no luck.

Do you have any other suggestion?

 

Regards HAZ

HAZ
Employee
murnenp
Posts: 570
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 4 of 25 (8,445 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-25-2011 04:42 AM in reply to: HAZ

HAZ,

 

I apologize as the extent of what the hotfix addresses wasn't made clear. With the hotfix the Snap behavior works like this -

 

The current snap behavior works like this -

 

If no command is running the snap is not active.

 

If you are running a command and you are selecting components the snap is not active. This is seen as an improvement because many times when you are trying to select a component and the snap is active it is difficult to select right on the component.

 

If you are running a command and you are selecting a location, the snap is active.

 

In AutoCAD Electrical there are some commands that your one selection is used for BOTH selecting an object and a location at the same time, for example the multiple bus command. The hotfix supplied addresses these situations so that during these selections the snap is now active.

 

It has been logged that we need to supply a setting to control this so that if you want you can go back to the old behavior where the Snap can be on even when no command is active. If you have anything you want me to add to the logged issue indicating why the snap is important when no command is active or when selecting components, please post them here and I will make sure they are added to the logged issue. All feedback is appreciated.

 

Regards,

Pat Murnen



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor HAZ
Active Contributor
HAZ
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Message 5 of 25 (8,425 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-25-2011 11:10 PM in reply to: murnenp

Hi and thanks for comments.

You see, I count the jumps all the time,, to place the symbol's at the right place.

I wish you had some settings under Option dialog box which can changes the behavior of the snap like the older versions of AutoCAD.

Regards HAZ

HAZ
Employee
murnenp
Posts: 570
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 6 of 25 (8,417 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-26-2011 04:36 AM in reply to: HAZ

HAZ,

 

Thanks. I will add your comments to the logged issue.

 

Again, I apologize for this inconvenience,

Pat Murnen



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
rellison
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎09-05-2002
Message 7 of 25 (8,413 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-26-2011 05:19 AM in reply to: HAZ

Like you, I use the old "jumpy cursor" to visually check alignments, etc. and I miss that behavior.  Workaround: invoke a command, like "line" or "point" to enter that mode, then cancel when finished counting jumps.

Active Member
post
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-22-2010
Message 8 of 25 (8,391 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-28-2011 12:09 AM in reply to: HAZ

Hi , i have so much trouble with this new autocad 2012 snap behavior, so i decided to uninstall the program and use 

2011 instead. For me this makes the 2012 version total useless.

I have used autocad since the 80's and this i for me the must stupid command change ever done.

Why is this done without even a choice to use the old snap behavior ? 

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,164
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 9 of 25 (8,382 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-28-2011 07:10 AM in reply to: rellison

I agree that there should be a toggle to engage or disengage the new cursor action, but I'm not having any trouble with it at all, after the hotfix.  I am old school too; I use 100% crosshairs because of the advantages it offers for checking alignment.  But the new function turns on snap anytime I would be concerned about alignment anyway.  It is even on when I'm using Scoot, Move Component, or snapping the pick box to phase 1 when inserting a 3-phase wire bus.  Plus Electrical has the Align command, which can align everything from wire numbers to footprints, rendering the 100% crosshairs and snap as virtually obsolete. 

 

Electrical's "toolbox" goes way beyond the capabilities of standard AutoCAD's drafting engine. The problem is that experienced users of plain AutoCAD who switch to Electrical tend to approach things from their old "drafting engine" perspective rather than fully embracing the power tools provided in the Electrical menus.  Sure you can make your drawing look the way you want with the plain AutoCAD commands, but why not use the Electrical commands instead, since they get the same results with more speed and accuracy?  Electrical may call up a plain AutoCAD command, like trim, extend, stretch, join, etc., as part of a command string it is executing, but Electrical commands also execute subroutines that do such things as rejoining wires, retagging moved components, checking for wire type mismatches, etc., while also keeping the database up to date with the latest drawing data.

 

I must say that I am all about snap.  Ask anyone who has attended one of my training courses.  I push snap from the beginning.  Snap became a habit for me because the competitive software requires it.  If you "eyeball" a wire connection with one of the competitors and miss by so much as a pixel, your wire is not connected.  For this reason they force snap.  When Nate Holt originally developed "Wiring Diagram", now known as AutoCAD Electrical, he wanted to allow those who don't like snap, and you know who you are, the freedom to design without snap.  Nate simply made use of the trap distance function within AutoCAD's drafting engine.  Because of Nate's vision and insight, AutoCAD Electrical is very forgiving for those who prefer not to use snap, but also accommodates those of us who use it religiously.  The one time I turn off snap is when I'm trying to pick something such as attribute text so I can move it with the Move/Show Attribute command.  I sometimes miss the text when on snap. The new cursor function has cured that problem, and turns snap on automatically once I select the text.  I like this since it saves me from having to turn snap back on.

 

I think this is something new to be embraced.  I didn't like the Ribbon menu at first either, but now I wouldn't even consider going back to the old menu.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Member
post
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-22-2010
Message 10 of 25 (8,373 Views)

Re: Snap ON / Off AutoCAD 2012

05-29-2011 01:06 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Hi, i use autocad electrical , but now back in version 2011 because 2012 electrical is total useless for me without the old snap behavior. I use 100% crosshair. And after about 30 years with autocad I cannot just change how I make drawings, and I have no time for that. My work as electric engineer travelling around the world is extreme stressful, and I don’t want my tools to make it even worse. I have often to make 500-1000 electric drawings for a project like all control systems and all electric installations for new factories, I must also work most of the weekends during a year , last year 211 days from home, so it cannot be too much to ask , give back the old snap behavior for us who needs it. I am sorry , I have no time for new courses or learn autocad all over again. I have no problems to understand some likes this new snap , but please give us who don’t,  the possibility to select the old snap behavior, I cannot be that difficult, it has worked for more than 30 years.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.