AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
*Ed
Message 1 of 7 (308 Views)

Signal Arrow Style

308 Views, 6 Replies
04-13-2004 12:39 PM
How do I remove just the text 'From' or 'To' on the source-destination cross-reference and make it the default. That is, I select '1' on the Signal Arrow Style dialog box, but I do not want the text 'To' on the drawing (I do want the wire #). -- Ed
*Nate Holt \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 7 (308 Views)

Re: Signal Arrow Style

04-13-2004 09:49 PM in reply to: *Ed
Ed, The "to" and "from" text is pulled from the XREF attribute's "prompt" value. To get rid of it, open up each of the signal arrow library symbols (ex: HA1S1.dwg in your JIC1 or JIC125 or IEC2 or IEC4 folder - whichever library you're using), and use DDEDIT to edit the XREF attribute definition. Blank out the "prompt" value in the edit box. Do this to each of the arrow symbols (there are 8 per "style"). That should do it. Nate. "Ed" wrote in message news:407c420e_3@newsprd01... > How do I remove just the text 'From' or 'To' on the source-destination > cross-reference and make it the default. > That is, I select '1' on the Signal Arrow Style dialog box, but I do not > want the text 'To' on the drawing (I do want the wire #). > > -- > Ed > >
*Ed
Message 3 of 7 (308 Views)

Re: Signal Arrow Style

04-14-2004 05:49 AM in reply to: *Ed
Thanks, that did it! ed "Nate Holt (Autodesk)" wrote in message news:407cc2f9_1@newsprd01... > Ed, > The "to" and "from" text is pulled from the XREF attribute's "prompt" value. > To get rid of it, open up each of the signal arrow library symbols (ex: > HA1S1.dwg in your JIC1 or JIC125 or IEC2 or IEC4 folder - whichever library > you're using), and use DDEDIT to edit the XREF attribute definition. Blank > out the "prompt" value in the edit box. Do this to each of the arrow symbols > (there are 8 per "style"). That should do it. > Nate. > > > "Ed" wrote in message > news:407c420e_3@newsprd01... > > How do I remove just the text 'From' or 'To' on the source-destination > > cross-reference and make it the default. > > That is, I select '1' on the Signal Arrow Style dialog box, but I do not > > want the text 'To' on the drawing (I do want the wire #). > > > > -- > > Ed > > > > > >
Active Member
dltimmons
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 4 of 7 (188 Views)

Re: Signal Arrow Style

01-16-2014 10:18 AM in reply to: *Ed

I know this is a old post I want to do this with 2014 and it does not work. Would like to have just the description and ref on one line with a "/" bewteen them

Valued Mentor
drathak
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Signal Arrow Style

01-16-2014 12:37 PM in reply to: dltimmons

dltimmons wrote:

I know this is a old post I want to do this with 2014 and it does not work. Would like to have just the description and ref on one line with a "/" bewteen them


I'm still on 2013, so I can't speak to why that doesn't work.  (It should.)  Are you sure you only have one copy of those symbols and it isn't grabbing the unedited ones?

 

But as for changing how the description and cross reference are displayed, you would still need to edit all the blocks. Make the DESC1 attribute right aligned, then add a "/" symbol by itself, then put the XREF attribute after that and make it left aligned.  With a little experimenting and tweaking you should be able to get what you want.  (Are you sure you want the DESC1 or maybe the WIRENO instead?)

 

See the attached image for what I mean.

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principle Associate Engineer - Nashville Electric Service
P&C Committee Chair – SDS Industry Consortium
Active Member
dltimmons
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 6 of 7 (177 Views)

Re: Signal Arrow Style

01-16-2014 01:13 PM in reply to: drathak

Thanks

 

We making the change from Promis*E We liked or got use to the way it did signals, The signal code was a little confusing at first till figure our to use the use button and let AcadE set the signal code.

 

After three or four rounds of Purge and Swap/update Block it finnally started working. I got it down to Desc1 on one line and Ref on a second line that is a better fit for us. We do not want the wire number at the signal arrow.

Valued Mentor
drathak
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 7 (175 Views)

Re: Signal Arrow Style

01-16-2014 01:17 PM in reply to: dltimmons

dltimmons wrote:

Thanks

 

After three or four rounds of Purge and Swap/update Block it finnally started working. I got it down to Desc1 on one line and Ref on a second line that is a better fit for us. We do not want the wire number at the signal arrow.


Cool.  And that is what customization is all about.

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principle Associate Engineer - Nashville Electric Service
P&C Committee Chair – SDS Industry Consortium
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.