AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Selector Switch Contacts

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
ccapplen
4733 Views, 9 Replies

Selector Switch Contacts

Hello All,

I am very new to AutoCAD Electrical and I'm having trouble adding additional contacts to componts, namely selector switches.  How is that process done?  When I add a selctor switch it only adds a single contact.

AutoCAD Electrical 2013

Windows 7

Thank you in advance.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
dougmcalexander
in reply to: ccapplen

Go back to the Selector Switch category in the menu and click on the 2nd+ contact of your choice, either NO or NC. Insert the contact next to the parent contact that you already inserted.  Click Parent/Sibling to associate this additional contact to the existing contact.  The reason Electrical works this way is so that you are not limited to a certain wire spacing.  You can insert multi-wire components across any group of wires no matter their spacing.  Hint: This same method can be used for pushbuttons, relays, and any other switching device that can have 2 or more contacts.

Doug McAlexander

Design Engineer/Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical training and implementation support

Phone and Web-based Support Plans Available

Phone: (770) 841-8009

www.linkedin.com/in/doug-mcalexander-1a77623

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Likes are also much appreciated.
Message 3 of 10
huyvu90
in reply to: ccapplen

If a selector switch has 4 contacts, how would you go about distinguishing between the different contacts?

Currently I assign pin # to each contact to distinguish it from other contacts but I'm not sure if it is the right thing to do.  For example, contact #1 would have pin # 1 and 2.  Contact #2 would have pin # 3 and 4.

Message 4 of 10