AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
hades01
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-13-2011
Message 1 of 10 (4,326 Views)

Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

4326 Views, 9 Replies
05-09-2012 02:42 PM

We have multiple user accounts on Win 7 running acade electrical 2012.  one of the users was using it and managed to do this to his machine: (see attachments)

 

All the icons on his ribbon turned into question marks with clouds.  it's also missing a home tab.

 

any help would be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 1,064
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 10 (4,322 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

05-09-2012 06:42 PM in reply to: hades01

They have either deleted the support directories or changed/deleted all the path settings in ACADE.

 

To check, go to the ACADE options and in the Files tabs, check the different directories against a good machine.

If they are missing or wrong, edit them so they are correct.

 

If the support directories have been deleted, do a repair of the install. This should replace any missing directories and files.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Contributor
hades01
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-13-2011
Message 3 of 10 (4,297 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

05-11-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: Icemanau

All the support directories are the same.  that cloud ? problem only happens on that one user account on that one computer.

 

Is there a way to do a repair/install on just that one account without destroying the settings of the other users?

Product Support
mathalekar
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
Message 4 of 10 (4,291 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

05-12-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: hades01

Primarily it looks like ACADE.cuix is not loaded properly. Please try to use CUILOAD command to invoke ribbon CUI file. Unload the existing file, then click on browse and select ACADE.cuix file. Click on Load to reload the electrical ribbon.

Regards,
Mayuresh Athalekar
Autodesk AutoCAD Electrical Team !

AUTOCAD ELECTRICAL IDEASTATION :http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-electrical-ideastation/idb-p/37
Facebook Page : https://www.facebook.com/AutoCADElectrical
Blog Page : http://autodesk.typepad.com/systemsdesign/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL_6ApchKwjN-0Wh8PzIjA_O0P6HRazOwH
AutoCAD Electrical App: https://itunes.apple.com/app/autocad-electrical/id736763190
Contributor
hades01
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-13-2011
Message 5 of 10 (4,270 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

05-14-2012 09:09 AM in reply to: mathalekar

I tried using cuiload/unload mulitple times already to get it to come up.  loading acad.cuix seems to be OK, so i thought maybe the acade.cuix file was corrupted, so i tried taking a working acade.cuix from another user account from that computer and replacing the corrupted one.  It still shows up with the cloud question marks.  (even without replacing the file, i tried loading a different acade.cuix from a different location and it still shows the question marks).

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 1,064
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 6 of 10 (4,266 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

05-14-2012 03:06 PM in reply to: hades01

Each user has a seperate profile on the computer. This also includes ACADE settings. Check the support paths in ACADE for the user that is having problems. If that fails, the user may have to recreate their profile.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


New Member
JackStock8343
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 7 of 10 (4,036 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

10-12-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Fixing the Pointer in the "OPTIONS" under "TOOLS" to the " jic125" file fixed it

Active Member
Sharpie37
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 8 of 10 (3,604 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

03-05-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: JackStock8343

Hi Jack,

 

I'm having the same issue.Can you explain how you fixed it in more detail. You lost me at "TOOLS".

 

 

I'm using AutoCAD Electrical 2012 on Windows 7 x64.

Active Member
Sharpie37
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 9 of 10 (3,601 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

03-05-2013 01:50 PM in reply to: Sharpie37

Arg, I checked all of my "options" folders against a coworker's folders, and found that I'd changed one by accident. That fixed it.

New Member
emelizab
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2013
Message 10 of 10 (2,366 Views)

Re: Ribbon icons all turned to question mark clouds

11-04-2013 12:41 PM in reply to: hades01

I just tried to unload acade.cuix and reload it.  Only thing is, in my program it is acad.cuix--no "e" on the end of "acad"  could this be the reason the icons come in as question marks in clouds.  Also when I pick on the icon folder there is nothing in it.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.