AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
metal_pro2
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎07-04-2007
Message 1 of 5 (254 Views)

Resequence Item numbers causes scripting through every drawing

254 Views, 4 Replies
01-07-2013 10:52 AM

I am using Ver 2013. I haven't used Autocad Electric for a couple of years as I was using Eplan and unfortunately I have forgot a lot of things about Autocad electric.

Here is my problem: When I do a "Resequence item numbers" and select Active drawing every drawing in the project is subsequently processed. In my project of 450 drawing this takes a long time. I do not remember this happening when I used to do this in Ver 2008 a couple years ago. Item Numbering Mode is set to "Reset with each Drawing"

Any suggestions?

Active Contributor
hbohm
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎01-19-2010
Message 2 of 5 (188 Views)

Re: Resequence Item numbers causes scripting through every drawing

12-18-2013 02:28 PM in reply to: metal_pro2

I have been wondering about this too. I don't see a need for AutoCAD to go through the entire project set if the change only pertains to 10 or less schematic drawings for that specific panel layout drawing.

 

Example:

I have one panel called CP-101, it has one panel drawing (M02) and five schematic drawings (E01-E05). If I run the Resequence Item Number command, it should only have to look at the M02 & E01-E05 drawings to change the item numbers. So why does it page through the entire project list of 100+ drawings?

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 3 of 5 (184 Views)

Re: Resequence Item numbers causes scripting through every drawing

12-18-2013 02:50 PM in reply to: hbohm

I think that with ACE 2012, the item numbers are now present in the schematics. So now when you do an item number resequence, the software checks all drawings for possible instances of the items in the drawing you are resequencing so it can update those also..

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Valued Contributor
marshallw
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-05-2007
Message 4 of 5 (102 Views)

Re: Resequence Item numbers causes scripting through every drawing

04-07-2014 01:28 PM in reply to: metal_pro2

Have you tried selecting "Project" in the "Resequence Item Numbers" dialog box? After you click "OK", this will bring up the "Select Drawings to Process" dialog box, from which you can pick only the drawings you want to resequence.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,222
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 5 of 5 (93 Views)

Re: Resequence Item numbers causes scripting through every drawing

04-07-2014 03:36 PM in reply to: marshallw

Prior to release 2013 AutoCAD Electrical only resequenced item numbers on panel layout drawings. It would not back annotate the schematic, thus it was possible to have different item number assignments between the schematic drawings and the panel layout drawings.  The complaints were heard and Autodesk responded.  The Resequence Item Numbers utility will start with the panel drawings and resequence the item numbers in order of the manufacturer names.  It then back annotates the related schematic components so their item numbers match those in the panel layout.  

 

I have discovered one flaw.  The item numbers are assigned alphabetically by manufacturer but in the order that the manufacturer's parts appear in the panel layout drawings, thus it is possible to see Eaton buttons and lights on the front panel drawing assigned lower numbers, while AB components on the next drawing will be assigned a higher number.  Also, if parts from the same manufacturer appear on more than one drawing, the item number assignments might even be split up, thus if your BOM is sorted by Item Number, the parts from one manufacturer could appear in multiple groups.  I hope this will be corrected in a future release.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.