AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about Inventor Cable and Harness and Autocad Electrical

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
sam.lamb
341 Views, 3 Replies

Questions about Inventor Cable and Harness and Autocad Electrical

Hey guys,

I've been fiddling around with Inventor and Autocad Electrical 2012 and I'm trying to get a feel for creating detailed wiring schematics by using Inventor to wire components and import the data into Electrical to create the schematic.  I am not an electrical engineer though, I'm a mechanical engineer.  I'm trying to learn this new software so I can teach the electrical engineer how to use it because he's an older guy and not so technically inclined.  I have a few questions about this software but I suppose I'll tackle them one at a time.  The first question is: when I import the Inventor data into Electrical, is there a way to get Electrical to show the proper symbols for components?  For instance, I have a wire coming from a pilot light, going to a junction block, coming out of the junction block and going into a 21 pin connector.  All I seem to get electrical to do is display the default connector symbol for each component.  Do I have to go in and change all the symbols after I've wired all the components or can electrical do this automatically?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
rhesusminus
in reply to: sam.lamb

You CAN use this tool for internal wiring within a cabinet, but it's meant to only be used for cable/harness functions. That's why the import of the XML file from Inventor Pro is named "Insert Connector from List", and it will only work with automatic insertion of connectors.