AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
adrien.levasseur
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 1 of 14 (545 Views)
Accepted Solution

PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

545 Views, 13 Replies
01-13-2012 05:11 AM

Hello,

 

I have a TitleBlock "ACADE_TITLE", using WD_TB attribute to uptdate my automatic fields : TIME = PLOTTIME ; DATE = PLOTDATE etc...
All are working but PLOTDATE / TIME.

When updating, ACE doesn't care TIME and DATE, even though he cares the other unchanged attributes.

I also tried *project*.wdt, but i am not sure ACE read it when update.

See appendix to see my title block.

 

Could you help me please ? Thanks

Did you try using Plot Project and then see if this value changed?

 

It appears this is only updated when the Plot Project is run:

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/AutoCAD_Electrical/enu/2011/Help/User's_Guide/115Project-WideTools/1399TitleBlockUtility/1401TitleBlockutilityse/1404WDTfilemethod

 

At least that is how I read this.

 

Hope this helps.

 

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,096
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 14 (543 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-13-2012 06:00 AM in reply to: adrien.levasseur

Did you try using Plot Project and then see if this value changed?

 

It appears this is only updated when the Plot Project is run:

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/AutoCAD_Electrical/enu/2011/Help/User's_Guide/115Project-WideTools/1399...

 

At least that is how I read this.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Contributor
adrien.levasseur
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 3 of 14 (520 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-16-2012 01:22 AM in reply to: testsubject

When i plot my project ??

...

:smileyfrustrated:

I only tried plotting one draw by one draw....

Thanks Bob, now this is working

Contributor
adrien.levasseur
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 4 of 14 (517 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-16-2012 01:26 AM in reply to: testsubject

To go further :
Could i use a plotdate with DDMMYY format ? There is no proposition for this format in ACE (wiki)help

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,096
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 5 of 14 (508 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-16-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: adrien.levasseur

That I don't know. Maybe Pat or Kevin have the answer to that one.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Active Contributor
btackes
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Message 6 of 14 (496 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-16-2012 01:57 PM in reply to: testsubject

PLOTDATEMMDDYY

current date (MM:smileyvery-happy:D:YY format)

PLOTDATEYYMMDD

current date (YY:MM:smileyvery-happy:D format)

PLOTDATEYYYYMMDD

current date (YYYY:MM:smileyvery-happy:D format)

 

This is for 2012 not sure about earlier versions.

Contributor
adrien.levasseur
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 7 of 14 (489 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-17-2012 02:29 AM in reply to: btackes

I have same PLOT YMD combinations as you do with my 2009 version.
Actually, this is not really an important issue.

I'd rather use YYYYMMDD

Spoiler
I just wonder why the format MMDDYY exists, this is non-sense

 

Thanks for your help

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 927
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 8 of 14 (468 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-18-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: adrien.levasseur

I'd just like to add that you can always use a FIELD as an attribute text. Plotdate/time is a field that AutoCAD (Electrical also) updates automatically when a drawing is plotted. No matter hoe one plots the drawing (manually, Plot Project etc.)

 

THL


Trond Hasse Lie
ECAD Consultant
CtrlAltEl

Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Contributor
adrien.levasseur
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 9 of 14 (457 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-19-2012 02:36 AM in reply to: rhesusminus

You are reaviling an interesting point.

 

I remember using LISP expression in some of my title block's fields (have a search "tbnp.lsp" for next and previous sheet on this forum, this was brought by dougmcalexander)...

In the " _Field" command, i found the many date formats, where highlighted "DateTracé" means "PlottingDate". Then with dd/MM/YYYY format, i find the expression :

%<\AcVar PlotDate \f "dd/MM/yyyy">%.

So i will soon try in my WD_TB :

DATE = %<\AcVar PlotDate \f "dd/MM/yyyy">%

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 927
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 10 of 14 (453 Views)

Re: PLOTDATE / PLOTDATE update

01-19-2012 02:51 AM in reply to: adrien.levasseur

You don't have to put that in the WD_TB attribute or WDT-file. Just insert the field in the drawing template (dwt-file), and it will be a part of all new drawings.

 

THL


Trond Hasse Lie
ECAD Consultant
CtrlAltEl

Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.