AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please someone bloody help me.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
sinannajm.m
621 Views, 5 Replies

Please someone bloody help me.

How does autocad create 2d blocks that turn into 3d models when you switch views? Also, is their a way to either edit, or create the AEC content that comes with Autocad?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
johnq
in reply to: sinannajm.m

Hi There

I have been using AutoCAD for 10 years, Inventor for a whils and ACE solid for 15 months.

I do not underwstand your first question.

The second question:  Do you mean to edit the supplied electrical electrical symbols to your requirements?

If yes, there is no simple answer.  You need to get the basics with training.

You may think that Doug is pushing his wheel barrow but what he says about inital training is quite vallid.

No I am not on commission, just another continent.

May be you have been given an objective by management and they do not understand the complexity of ACE.

Cheers  jq

Message 3 of 6
Icemanau

On the 2D to 3D, I have no idea.

On the ACE blocks, you create them the same as normal ACAD blocks. All the intelligence comes from special attributes that you insert into the block when creating it. Functions in the Electrical version look for and use the data in these attributes.

There is also a databse that is created for each project you start. This database can be safely deleted and ACAD will re-create it from the dwgs.

Insert some blocks into a blank dwg and explode them to take a look and you will see what I mean about the attributes.