AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mako68
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎12-11-2007
Message 1 of 5 (336 Views)

Pin list for push buttons?

336 Views, 4 Replies
11-21-2011 12:41 AM

Hi,

 

It seems that AutoCAD Electrical does not support creating pin list information for push buttons, pilot lights with multiple NC NO contacts. For example; ABB pushbutton MP1-10B with 2NO and 2NC. How to define this to pin list database that it would work...? Ithink this database is mainly created for contactor coil/pins and it will work only with control devices (push buttons, etc) with only one contact.

 

Regards

mako

Contributor
randybrunette
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (324 Views)

Re: Pin list for push buttons?

11-21-2011 03:29 PM in reply to: mako68

ACE does indeed support creating pin list information for push buttons, pilot lights with multiple NC NO contacts. Pretty much the same way as for coils with multiple contacts.

 

The one exception is that since there is no "coil" pins, you need to enter the same pins for both the coil and the first contact set on the device.

 

For example, with a pushbutton with a NO contact and a NC contact you would enter the coil pins as, A1X,A1Y, and enter the pinlist data as 1,A1X,A1Y,2,A2X,A2Y.

Randy Brunette
Brunette Technologies, LLC
randy.brunette@brutec.us
www.brutec.us
Distinguished Contributor
mako68
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎12-11-2007
Message 3 of 5 (313 Views)

Re: Pin list for push buttons?

11-22-2011 05:15 AM in reply to: randybrunette

Yes it works! Thanks Randy!

Distinguished Contributor
mako68
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎12-11-2007
Message 4 of 5 (290 Views)

Re: Pin list for push buttons?

11-28-2011 03:35 AM in reply to: randybrunette

I noticed that there are some pre-filled pin list data for circuit breakers in AutoCAD Electrical...The syntax for 2 pole circuit breaker is: Coil pins 1,2 and pin list 3,4. (There is no same pins for  for both the coil and the first contact set on the device). I know that these blocks are built dynamically using the wd_3unit code so it will work on this way.

 

But if you want build this 2-pole CB using separate parent/child blocks you should enter the same pins for both the coil and the first contact set on the device. So would it be correct to fill the data also for CB's like Coil  pins 1,2 and pin list: 1,1,2;1,3,4

 

Mako

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,204
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 5 of 5 (269 Views)

Re: Pin list for push buttons?

11-29-2011 06:55 AM in reply to: mako68

We do this exercise with a 3-pole breaker in my training course.  Just enter 1,2 for the Coilpins (i.e. parent) and 1,3,4 in the Pin List field for the second pole (i.e. child).  For a 3-pole breaker, it would be Coilpins 1,2 and Pin List 1,3,4;1,5,6.  I also do this for switch disconnects.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.