AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
oveimariemamn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
Message 1 of 7 (195 Views)

PDF Reader instead of IE

195 Views, 6 Replies
01-08-2013 01:11 AM

Is it possible to make ACE start the PDF reader instead of internet E when one press "Web/View knob" in the Bill of Material Check window. I have all info and catalogs on the server.

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,083
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 7 (183 Views)

Re: PDF Reader instead of IE

01-08-2013 06:09 AM in reply to: oveimariemamn

That is easy to do.

 

You need to go to the catalog, edit the catalog item and change the Weblink field to the point to the pdf instead. After doing that, the pdf will launch when you click the Web/View button.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Contributor
oveimariemamn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
Message 3 of 7 (168 Views)

Re: PDF Reader instead of IE

01-08-2013 11:43 PM in reply to: testsubject

No,in the window "Bill of Material Check" nothing happen when pressing the button if i change the data to a pdf instead. But in the window "Parts Catalog" it works .

 It is possible to start IE by writing http:\\ first but by some very strange behavior from IE it changes the path from a "/" to a "\" and therefore can't find the file...

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,083
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 4 of 7 (157 Views)

Re: PDF Reader instead of IE

01-09-2013 05:17 AM in reply to: oveimariemamn

Thata is strange because that is the dialog box I used to test that it would work.

 

I put the filepath and name of a pdf in the weblink field and ACE had no problem opening the pdf when I clicked on "Web/View" in the Bill of Materials dialog box.

 

Maybe if you provide a couple of examples of what you are trying to do we can figure this out. (Text, Screen shots, etc)

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Contributor
oveimariemamn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
Message 5 of 7 (145 Views)

Re: PDF Reader instead of IE

01-09-2013 10:38 PM in reply to: testsubject

This is the pathway written in the Weblink field K:\CAD\S04Vest\Slutdokumentation\Manualer\Sekundär apparater\switchdiss.pdf . Nothing happens when pressing the Web/View button...

For me the button Web/View only works if it is a web address like this  http://www.abb.com/product/seitp329/19130a55833d8efdc1256e89004019e9.aspx in the Weblink field.

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,083
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 6 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: PDF Reader instead of IE

01-10-2013 05:29 AM in reply to: oveimariemamn

I do not have anything more to offer. Assuming the file path that you listed exists, it should work.

 

I thought that maybe because there was a space in the filepath that that would cause a problem but 2013 had no trouble finding the pdf. I did purposefully mispell the filepath and tried and the weblink did nothing which is what I expected.

 

Maybe it is something about the version you are using.

 

Maybe it has something to do with the length of the file path. Could you try using a pdf that is in a short filepath (Like maybe something in the root drive.)

 

Is K a network drive? It so, is it active when you are trying to run this test?

 

Just a few questions to maybe help get you going. I am kind of stumped.

 

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Contributor
oveimariemamn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-17-2011
Message 7 of 7 (117 Views)

Re: PDF Reader instead of IE

01-10-2013 10:45 PM in reply to: testsubject

Thank you very much Bob for the try,

To me it looks like a program bug,i'm useing the 2012 version.

It is really strange because it starts the Adobe reader from the "Catalog Lookup" window which you reach from "Panel Layout-" , but not from "Catalog Check".

Well anyway,it is not so big problem for me, i can live with it:cathappy:

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.