AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Help With Vectorizing Scanned Schematics

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
asegal0000
420 Views, 5 Replies

Newbie Help With Vectorizing Scanned Schematics

I have a lot of 1960 era schematics that I have scanned, and would like to clean up.

I can view the images in electrical, but I cannot figure out how to use the raster tools

to vectorize the schematic components and text.

If there is a tutorial on how to do this, I couldn't find it.

If you have any instructions, please be as detailed as possible, as I am a newbie

to Autocad, and don't know the ribbon menus that well yet.

Thanks In Advance,

Alan

Tags (2)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
testsubject
in reply to: asegal0000

I cannot really help you with the raster to vector conversion, but I would recommend that if you have a lot of these old drawings, it may be faster overall to redraw them using ACE than try to warp the old raster images to fit within ACE. I have worked with both and find that as much as I try to use the old drawings, I always end up redrawing them to have access to the reports and cross-referencing that is available from ACE. It always seems that you end up having to redraw vast amounts of the original file to get the wires to "line up" to a grid so that it is easier to use.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
If this answered your question, please click on "Accept Solution"
Message 3 of 6
asegal0000

That is another option I thought of.

Is it possible to have a raster in the background, and then draw on top of that,

and then remove the raster?

Thanks

Message 4 of 6
testsubject

Sure thing.

Insert the raster image as an xref and it will stay just like that: an image. Then you can trace over it and remove the xref later.