AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
dmray
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 1 of 6 (128 Views)

Network Pinlist

128 Views, 5 Replies
09-14-2012 08:18 AM

Hey there fellow AutoCADers.  I am not using a network install of Electrical, but I have located the default_cat.mdb in a network folder.  My problem?  PINLISTS.  It points to the original install location (work station).  Is there a way, besides reinstalling the software to a network install, that I can force the PINLIST file to look in another location for catalog information?

 

IN summary:  Default_cat.mdb moved to network folder.  PINLIST database refers to default_cat located locally.  Iw ant to have it read the network one.

 

Thanks


Doug

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,173
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 6 (127 Views)

Re: Network Pinlist

09-14-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: dmray

Go to www.ecadconsultant.com and click on the Tips/Tricks page.  Look in the index for a topic called Sharing AutoCAD® Electrical across a network.  What you are trying to do is exactly how I work.  I have a local installation but networked data.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
dmray
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 3 of 6 (123 Views)

Re: Network Pinlist

09-14-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Thats how i have it setup now, but the PINLISTs still referance the catalog on the local drive.  I worked around it by copying the network MDB to the local, but thats not very effieicnt....

 

Thanks


Doug

 

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,173
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: Network Pinlist

09-14-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: dmray

Did you rename the local AeData folder like my directions explained?  Did you add the new location for AeData to the top of the Support File Search Path under AutoCAD options?  I'm operating that way now with my laptop.  When I travel I rename my local AeData from AeData_ to AeData so it functions again.  When I get back to the office, I rename the local AeData to AeData_ so the software is forced to use the path listed in AutoCAD options.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
dmray
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 5 of 6 (119 Views)

Re: Network Pinlist

09-14-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

I access the default_cat from the network drive for all my cataloged parts.  (I verified by adding dummy parts ot make sure it works).  I even modified the wd.env file to point to that folder, as that was causing a different issue (I had a different thread on here, which you helped me resolve).  The wd.env file points to the network folder where the default_cat.mdb resides, but the pinlist points to the original/local default_cat.mdb.


Names haven't been changed.  Didnt see the need for that, and the file path IS the top one...

 

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,173
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 6 of 6 (116 Views)

Re: Network Pinlist

09-14-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: dmray

If you follow my directions exactly it will work, and everyone will share the same wd.env file.  There is actually no need to modify the wd.env file if you use my method. 

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.