AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Module within module?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
316 Views, 4 Replies

Module within module?

I'm completely new to AutoCad electrical, and was wondering if it's possible to create a wiring diagram then bundle it into a module that can be used within another wiring diagram.

What I'm hoping to do is, I work for a small radio station and I'm wanting to create wiring schematics because I've been hired after the fact with there being no diagrams. So what I'm wanting to do is have a wire diagram that shows the office space w/ a "module" for each room and be able to click on the module (room) to see that rooms specific schematics, yet able to "zoom" out to see how each module interacts with each other. Is this possible or am I wishful thinking here and better off creating diagrams for each room and each part of a room?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
rhesusminus
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi.

I would guess that each oom should have it's own sheet in the project. Then, you could have an overview drawing, where each room has been made into a separate symbol, so that you can interconnect the rooms.

If you place a stand-alone cross reference in the overview draing and in the room drawing, you can use the "surf" function to "zoom" into the room maybe?

THL

Trond Hasse Lie
AutoCAD Electrical and EPLAN expert
Ctrl Alt El
Please select "Accept Solution" if this post answers your question. 'Likes' won't hurt either. 😉
Message 3 of 5

Excellent suggestion Rhesusminus!  I make much use of the stand-alone crossreferences.  They are also handy for cross-referencing PLC module splits, and connector splits.

Doug McAlexander

Design Engineer/Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical training and implementation support