AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Member
MOHEB62
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
Message 1 of 4 (433 Views)

Missing symbols on some drawings of project

433 Views, 3 Replies
01-10-2011 03:01 AM
I have a question about missing some symbols , on some special drawings of project.For example in one of my project I can insert relay N/O contact symbol from icon menu in one drawing but on the other drawing of that same project I cant do it and this AutoCad warning message appears:'file not found' Could you please help me in this problem? Thanks
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 4 (417 Views)

Re: Missing symbols on some drawings of project

01-10-2011 11:21 AM in reply to: MOHEB62

It sounds like your AutoCAD Electrical project is not pointing to a valid library path.  The reason you will be able to insert on some drawings has to do with an old, old AutoCAD function that uses a local block, if found, before inserting a fresh block from the hard disk.  Any drawings that already contain the relay symbol will have no problem.  AutoCAD and AutoCAD Electrical both look local (inside the drawing file itself) before they look elsewhere for the block name you specify.  Even if you have deleted all occurrences of a block, unless you purge the drawing of unused blocks, they will still be resident in the file.  This is why AutoCAD Electrical includes the Update Block utility.  It will essentially delete and purge all occurrences of a specified block and replace with a new one from the library folder, and of course it can perform the operation project wide. 

 

Check your project properties to be sure you have a valid symbol library path specified.  Perhaps you have upgraded and your project is still pointing to an old library path.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Member
MOHEB62
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
Message 3 of 4 (390 Views)

Re: Missing symbols on some drawings of project

01-11-2011 01:59 AM in reply to: MOHEB62

Thanks for your attention sir

So,It seems that this problem depends on this special project and if I change my project and transfer it 's drawings to new one it removes.Due to I checked this project on another pc and problem again appears,is it necessary to reinstall software?

best regards

 

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 941
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 4 (299 Views)

Re: Missing symbols on some drawings of project

01-23-2011 08:02 PM in reply to: MOHEB62

No need to re-install....

 

Right click on a project where everything is working properly. Expand the Schematic and Panel Footprint Libraries sections located in the Project Settings tab.

 

Write down the directory paths (or do a printscreen).

 

Right click on the project that has the problems and open the Project Settings tab. Now expand the Schematic and Panel Footprint sections. Check the settings and if any are different to what you have written down, change them to match.

 

If the client wants special blocks used, add them at the top of the settings list so that they are looked through first but make sure that your standard directories are listed under them. That way is the client blocks dont have what you need, the program then looks in your standard library and uses the standard block.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.