AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking into Acad Electrical

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Darthyoga
242 Views, 3 Replies

Looking into Acad Electrical

Hello, we are looking into buying this software and I was wondering from a Cad Managers perpective how you would rate the difficulty of moving over to this product from Autocad. We only have a few people to train but iut looks like we will need to retrain our engineers to use standard spreadsheets etc.

Did it take long to set up?

What were your greatest difficulties?

I have been hypnotized by the marketing and would like to know the reality of it.

Thanks!
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4

Good Day,
I have worked for a reseller for over 5 years, now I am a CAD Manager at a company that uses AutoCAD Electrical. For the most part it is a pretty easy to manage product. It really depends on how much you want to "configure/customize" for the time to setup. For example if you want all custom symbols, it will take longer than if you use the standard out of the box symbols.

Some of the difficulties were getting end users used to assigning some of the data such as BOM, Locations etc... They felt it's taking longer to design, however they weren't thinking about the hours and hours that were saved on the back end of a project with creating the BOM.

All in all after seeing several products over the years I really do think AutoCAD Electrical is a great product. If you have any questions feel free to email me at robert.stein@yourrealsoftwaresolutions.com

Thanks
Robert Stein
Real Software Solutions
robert.stein@yourrealsoftwaresolutions.com
www.yourrealsoftwaresolutions.com
Rob Stein
Real Software Solutions
robert.stein@yourrealsoftwaresolutions.com
Message 3 of 4
dougmcalexander
in reply to: Darthyoga