AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
andrzej.barys
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-01-2004
Message 1 of 7 (119 Views)

language versions

119 Views, 6 Replies
07-01-2004 11:17 AM
I'm from Europe Poland and waiting for Polish language version of A E. I'm thinking also about translation module to create documentation in two languages: Polish and English. Does anybody know something about strategy of Autodesk in this matter?
*John Pullen
Message 2 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: language versions

07-01-2004 11:40 AM in reply to: andrzej.barys
Take a look at the wd_msg.mdb file in the support directory. Think you just add a column for the country then add the translated text in rows. "andrzej" wrote in message news:21517229.1088705886296.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > I'm from Europe Poland and waiting for Polish language version of A E. I'm thinking also about translation module to create documentation in two languages: Polish and English. Does anybody know something about strategy of Autodesk in this matter?
Contributor
andrzej.barys
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-01-2004
Message 3 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: language versions

07-01-2004 02:15 PM in reply to: andrzej.barys
Thanks for your reply. It's mean I have to add translation manually. I'm before decision of buying software for electrical design and compare AE with others like Eplan, Elcad or See Electrical popular in Europe. There is an automatic translation module to create documents in different language versions. But AE has better link with Inventor to create automatic wiring. What choose?
Active Member
taclauss
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-29-2005
Message 4 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: language versions

12-29-2005 06:11 AM in reply to: andrzej.barys
Does AutoCAD Electrical have an automatic language translator? I do not want to create the database myself. We are a Global company and our drawings are sent to practically every country. It would be very beneficial to quickly (automatically) covert all text from one language to another. I understand that the verbiage could be incorrect. Babel Fish (http://babelfish.altavista.com/) is a good example of an automatic language translator that can covert between many languages. It would be ideal to have this functionality built into AutoCAD Electrical.
*Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
Message 5 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: language versions

12-29-2005 07:50 AM in reply to: andrzej.barys
Hi,

AutoCAD Electrical has the capability to swap words and/or phrases into
different languages today but you do have to populate the database on what
words/phrases to swap with one another first.

I've captured your request and will submit it for consideration in a future
release.

I do have one question though. Would you want to swap out the contents of
the attributes permantly or would you rather have different languages stored
in two different attributes so you could turn one language on and the other
off but still have both stored within the same drawing?

Regards,
Scott

wrote in message news:5047070@discussion.autodesk.com...
Does AutoCAD Electrical have an automatic language translator? I do not
want to create the database myself. We are a Global company and our
drawings are sent to practically every country. It would be very
beneficial to quickly (automatically) covert all text from one language to
another. I understand that the verbiage could be incorrect. Babel Fish
(http://babelfish.altavista.com/) is a good example of an automatic language
translator that can covert between many languages. It would be ideal to
have this functionality built into AutoCAD Electrical.
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,184
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 6 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: language versions

12-29-2005 09:09 AM in reply to: andrzej.barys
How do you predict every word or phrase that someone might use? This seems to be a monumental task. I am glad we have the language database in place and we can add/edit to fit our specific needs, but I don't see how the ACE developers could predict every English word or phrase that might be used, much less in all languages of the world.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Member
taclauss
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-29-2005
Message 7 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: language versions

12-30-2005 06:16 AM in reply to: andrzej.barys
Scott,

Thanks for your quick response! Being a US company we have always followed NFPA 79 and standardized on English. For the past 30 + years the complaints were disregarded. Now, with a focused on Globalization we have started to adopt IEC 60204. IEC 60204 Section 18.1 …… The information (drawings, manuals, HMI & etc) shall be in an agreed language. From the research I have done, many other Global companies are creating drawings in multiple languages. Typically, the component description, title bock and etc. are in three languages. The ability to swap symbols and language is essential for any Global company. Also, the ability to convert languages is showing up in HMI software packages
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.