AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with scale of schematic components and line numbers

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
AmandaV1
8389 Views, 8 Replies

Issue with scale of schematic components and line numbers

I am using Autocad Electrical 2014 and am having an ongoing issue with the scale of components, line numbers etc. I am relatively new to the world of electrical, so please be gentle!

Background: The A3 Electrical titleblocks that we are using in our office have a viewport scale of 0.485925, and a drawing component scale of 30 (“feature scale multiplier” set in Drawing Properties). This was set up long ago, apparently to accommodate a larger drawing template, and now carries through all of our electrical drawings. When I installed Autocad I set my library path to IEC (as am in Australia ie metric), however previous drawings have been built using JIC libraries. Sections of these JIC library drawings are used to make new drawings etc etc, thus new drawings have both JIC and also IEC components in them….

So now, when I insert components in schematics, they are either the correct size, huge or micro, depending on the drawing.

So, how can I make sure components are inserted at the right size?

A few questions:

1. If I was to continue to use the current titleblock scale and component scale settings, is there a way I can purge “pasted” drawings of their inbuilt component scale settings (ie when cutting and pasting from old drawings) so I am not carrying over any old scales/settings? Or lock the current component scale so it overrides any other incoming scales?  
  2. If I was to make a new A3 titleblock and assign new drawing settings from scratch, what would be the correct library and component scale to use?