AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
huyvu90
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 1 of 3 (146 Views)

Insert attribute into a panel foot print

146 Views, 2 Replies
10-15-2012 02:54 PM

My panel footprint has only P_TAG1, RATING1 and RATING2 attribute.  How do I add DESC1, DESC2 and DESC3 attribute to my foot print so that my foot print display its descriptions?

Valued Contributor
lionSG
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Message 2 of 3 (135 Views)

Re: Insert attribute into a panel foot print

10-15-2012 08:14 PM in reply to: huyvu90

Try to insert a nameplate.

It can either be referenced to an existing component footprint block or inserted as a stand-alone nameplate.

 

Go to Click Panel tab> Insert Component Footprints panel> Insert Footprints drop-down> Icon Menu

Select the desired nameplate and put it beside your footprint.

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 1,063
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 3 of 3 (129 Views)

Re: Insert attribute into a panel foot print

10-15-2012 09:51 PM in reply to: huyvu90

Select the block and find the block name in the properties dialog.

 

Now do a search for that particular block and open it in ACADE.

 

Add the three attributes you want (DESC1, DESC2 & DESC3) and position them as you require.

 

Save the block.

 

Now go to your panel layout dwg and run the block swap/update command. Select the block on your panel layout and ACADE will remove the old version and insert the new version.

 

From here, you can do two things to get the description attributes filled.

Run the Child Location/Description Update command or  edit the block and re-associate it with it's schematic counterpart. This will force ACADE to update all the description attributes.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.