AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Outbound
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-20-2012
Message 1 of 5 (378 Views)

Increasing Symbol Size

378 Views, 4 Replies
09-11-2012 11:58 AM

Is there a way that I can increase the size of component symbols?  I would l;ike for all of them to be 1.5 or 2 times the current size.

Active Contributor
stefan.stamate
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Message 2 of 5 (377 Views)

Re: Increasing Symbol Size

09-11-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: Outbound

Yes, right click on a project, go to properties, click on the Drawing Format tab and under Feature Scale Multiplier enter your desired scale.

Valued Contributor
lionSG
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Message 3 of 5 (364 Views)

Re: Increasing Symbol Size

09-12-2012 12:06 AM in reply to: stefan.stamate

You can also try to modify the symbol library and resize all the symbols standard that you are using. (JIC,IEC,JIS...)

 

Schematic tab> Other Tools panel> Symbol Builder> Modify Symbol Library

Select the folder containing the library symbols you wish to convert and press OK.

Just rescale the symbols to what scale you want.

Remember to backup the lib folder first in case the scaling is not right.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,222
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 5 (354 Views)

Re: Increasing Symbol Size

09-12-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: Outbound

Warning!  Do not use the Feature Scale Multiplier for metric to English conversion.  It happens to scale everything  but it is intended to scale features, like dots, angled tees, wire offsets when connecting two wires to the same wire connection, etc.  If you try to use it for metric to English conversion, it throws off the trap distance and can adversely affect wire numbering, terminal numbering, and more.  I suggest that you not use the FSM to scale by more than a factor of 2 and not less than 0.5.  In that case, use the Modify Symbol Library utility.  Be sure to make a backup copy of the library folder and its contents before you change it.  Hint:  It is best to temporarily move the library you wish to modify to the root of your drive.  The utility sometimes has problems with a long path to the symbols.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Valued Contributor
lionSG
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎07-12-2012
Message 5 of 5 (338 Views)

Re: Increasing Symbol Size

09-12-2012 07:16 PM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Thanks for pointing out the differences.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.