AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
mtakkol
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 1 of 9 (722 Views)
Accepted Solution

Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

722 Views, 8 Replies
02-13-2013 06:03 AM

Hello Everyone,

In my project, on some of the pages, vertical source arrow and its attributes are very tiny. I checked everything but I couldn't find the solution.

All the drawings have the same properties.

Also, I attached the picture showing the situation.

 

Thanx in advance

 

Tolga 

Ok, in that case there are 2 more things I would like you to check.

 

1. The drawing scale for the dwg ( Big "A" > Drawing Utilities > Units)

    Make sure the insertion scale is the same as the library, so mm since you are using IEC2

 

2. Make sure the Drawing setting's scale is set properly  (right click on the drawing > Drawing Properties )

    in the last tab "Drawing format" find the scale set it to "inch scaled to mm"  (sometimes full mm doesn't work properly.., and for IEC2, inches will not work at all)

 

If both of those are fine then it could be that the drawings were edited and saved in inches instead of mm.

 

Let me know,

 

James Alger

SolidCAD

Mentor
Nata_ly
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 2 of 9 (719 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-13-2013 06:14 AM in reply to: mtakkol

I can't see the picture, but as far as I understand you need this:

  

Spoiler

 

Spoiler

Change attribute size

Use this tool to change attribute text size quickly when components or wire numbers were already inserted onto your drawings.

 Ribbon:  Schematic tab Edit Components panel Modify Attributes drop-down Change Attribute Size..
 Toolbar: Edit Attributes
 Menu:  Components Attributes Change Attribute Size 
 Command entry:  AEATTSIZE

Pick

Selects the new attribute size by picking a similar text or attribute.

Size

Specifies the attribute size value.

Width

Specifies the attribute width value.

Apply

Applies the new size or width values to the selected attributes.

Single

Changes the size of the attributes as you select them.

By name

Changes all attributes of a certain type. Select an example attribute for AutoCAD Electrical to determine the name of the attribute. All attributes of the same name are found and adjusted to your specified size.

Type it

Specifies an attribute name for AutoCAD Electrical to match, wildcard characters are allowed. Window an area containing the attributes you want changed. All attributes that match the typed name are found and adjusted to the specified size.

For example, you want to change all the description attributes on all the PLC modules on your drawing. Select "Type it," and then enter "DESC*" for the attribute name. Window the entire drawing. You can include a series of attribute names to match by separating each attribute name with a semi-colon. (Example: "DESC*;TAG*")

 

 

Contributor
mtakkol
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 3 of 9 (713 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-13-2013 06:38 AM in reply to: Nata_ly

Sorry, I attached the wrong file. Here is the correct one.

Mentor
Nata_ly
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 4 of 9 (707 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-13-2013 06:47 AM in reply to: mtakkol

Sorry I didn't catch sight of the size of arrow in you text... Maybe smth is wrong with it in library, I can't say surely.

But you could type Scale in command line and make it bigger.

Mentor
algerj
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 5 of 9 (693 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-13-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: mtakkol

Although, your pictures do not clearly show the issue, I have seen this before.

 

The last time I saw the issue, running a normal Aduit (Big "A" > Drawing utilities> aduit) on the page with the issue cleared it up.

 

I also made sure the library was correct (I suggest using JIC125 as a base test for this) The JIC1 library should have all text at .1 but its not the case. In fact I think I have seen sizes from 0.085 up to  0.115.

If the library is the issue you could fix the library by using the "Modify Symbol Library"  command.

 

I hope this helps,

 

James Alger

SolidCAD 

Contributor
mtakkol
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 6 of 9 (677 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-14-2013 01:15 AM in reply to: algerj

Hello,

As you suggest, I scale IEC2 library with scale factor of 5. But nothing changes. I am also sending a screenshot of my library settings. 

Was it the correct library that I edited?

 

Regards

Distinguished Contributor
CAD-ICE
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Message 7 of 9 (654 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-14-2013 01:44 PM in reply to: mtakkol

Hi there,

Could it be that the symbol ACADE inserts isn´t in the IEC2 Library and therefore gets it from another library?

You see if ACADE does not find the symbol in the first library defined in the list it continues down the list and searches other libraries. Try double clicking on the small arrow and take note of the block name. See if this block exists in the IEC2 library.....if not then ACADE is picking the symbol from another library most certainly with another scale factor.

I hope this helps you in the right direction.

Regards, Gary

Mentor
algerj
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 8 of 9 (638 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-15-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: mtakkol

Ok, in that case there are 2 more things I would like you to check.

 

1. The drawing scale for the dwg ( Big "A" > Drawing Utilities > Units)

    Make sure the insertion scale is the same as the library, so mm since you are using IEC2

 

2. Make sure the Drawing setting's scale is set properly  (right click on the drawing > Drawing Properties )

    in the last tab "Drawing format" find the scale set it to "inch scaled to mm"  (sometimes full mm doesn't work properly.., and for IEC2, inches will not work at all)

 

If both of those are fine then it could be that the drawings were edited and saved in inches instead of mm.

 

Let me know,

 

James Alger

SolidCAD

Contributor
mtakkol
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 9 of 9 (586 Views)

Re: Horizontal and vertical source/destination arrows

02-21-2013 02:44 AM in reply to: algerj

James,

2nd solution worked. Thanx for the solution.

 

Regards

Tolga 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.