AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
johmag357
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-06-2006
Message 1 of 6 (433 Views)

Hanging lock files

433 Views, 5 Replies
02-24-2012 11:20 AM

I have a project folder that holds my wdp file and drawings.  When in the project, autocad will open a lock file for the current drawing open.  But whenever I plot the project, autocad will open lock files on all of the drawings in the project and plot them.  When finished the lock files are still in the project folder and I get an error message when I try Autocad Electrical to page between drawings.  And I can't delete the lock files until I shut down Autocad. Both the dwl and dwl2 files are created when plotting.  This happens whenever I am working from the server or on my desktop.  Has anyone seen this behavior and does anyone have a fix?

Mentor
sonny3g
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎05-09-2006
Message 2 of 6 (428 Views)

Re: Hanging lock files

02-24-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: johmag357

Make sure the drawings close after plotting.  Sometimes they remain open in the background until you manually close them.  Good luck.

 

Scott

Scott G. Sawdy
scott.sawdy@bluecoyotecad.com
Active Member
johmag357
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-06-2006
Message 3 of 6 (426 Views)

Re: Hanging lock files

02-24-2012 01:12 PM in reply to: sonny3g

I am in SDI mode and there is only one drawing open.  This just started happening recently.  Don't know what to make of it. Can't think of any change that might be causing it?

Distinguished Contributor
John
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎02-03-2005
Message 4 of 6 (402 Views)

Re: Hanging lock files

02-27-2012 07:20 AM in reply to: johmag357

Are your project and drawing files on a network? I used to have this problem a lot.

I now work with a copy of the project on my local drive and not only does this no longer happen but ACE works much faster.

 

Edit: I also always work in SDI mode.

 

John

Active Member
johmag357
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-06-2006
Message 5 of 6 (395 Views)

Re: Hanging lock files

02-27-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: johmag357

No, I actually moved a project to a folder on my computer and opened and printed it out an the same thing happened.  Whatever this is, it happens from within autocad as far as I can tell.

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 948
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 6 of 6 (382 Views)

Re: Hanging lock files

02-28-2012 04:22 AM in reply to: johmag357

Just for the fun on it...

 

If you used the WHOHAS command in AutoCAD, for one of the "locked" files, when they are NOT open in AutoCAD... .What does it say?'

 

THL


Trond Hasse Lie

ECAD Consultant, CtrlAltEl

Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.