AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
mgoolsby75
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎09-16-2011
Message 1 of 4 (119 Views)

Glitch Issues

119 Views, 3 Replies
01-26-2012 05:29 AM

Well... I just got reamed a new ****, because apparently ACE is not saving properly within it's own database. I made some changes to a DWG. file and when I was finished, I PDF'd the Documents and placed them on our server. Well... About 20 minutes later my boss asked me if I had made the changes and I told him that I did make the changes. He replies back and said that I didn't. Well, come to find out that that the PDF's were right, but some of the DWG files were changed and some were not. Can someone please explain what is going on with ACE and if you have had similiar problems with the software doing this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,123
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 4 (100 Views)

Re: Glitch Issues

01-26-2012 09:33 PM in reply to: mgoolsby75

It depends upon the exact type of edits you performed.  The database is only a reflection of the drawings.  The PDFs are a conversion of the drawings, which would explain why they matched your drawings, including the drawings that were not updated.

 

The main reason that drawings might not be updated as expected is if a project-wide update was needed but not performed.  If you performed an edit that required an update to other drawings but chose to add the updates to the Task List, instead of Batch Processing immediately, the other affected drawings will not be updated until you right-click on the project and execute the Task List.  I'm not saying that this is what happened to you, but it is a possible pitfall.  The same thing can happen with database-driven programs, and they don't offer to run the update process immediately, they add the task to the database and update the next time the pages are opened.  With AutoCAD Electrical, I always Batch Process the update immediately, instead of adding to the task list.  This ensures that my project drawings stay synchronized in real time.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Mentor
johnq
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 3 of 4 (76 Views)

Re: Glitch Issues

01-29-2012 03:28 PM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Hi DOUG & MGOOLSBY75

 

Doug:  When you say batch process/save....Is that the same as doing a save before swapping from one drawing to another?

 

As to M Goolsby;  it almost sound like he is working at my last employeer.   We did find that with ACE,  Adobe PDF creater "lost" drawing pieces,  this was also a problem with Inventer.

 

We found that  CutePDF was more reliable for ACE. & Inventer.

 

I have harped on this before, a busy network will loose data to printers and especially if devious users have set their printing to RAW printing.  This by passes the crude spooler in WIndows.

 

I believe that a non CAD apporved printer that has Post Script is as good as an approved CAD printer.

 

Just my perception.   johnq

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,123
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 4 (73 Views)

Re: Glitch Issues

01-29-2012 03:34 PM in reply to: mgoolsby75
When you perform an edit that affects other drawings in the project, ACE offers to update the drawings immediately or add the updates to a task list. I always process immediately to be sure the other drawings are immediately updated.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.