AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
New Member
stolid
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Message 1 of 3 (474 Views)

Export Custom Blocks with Attributes ?

474 Views, 2 Replies
06-04-2012 11:29 PM

I have been thinking about formatting my pc and i am trying to export my custom blocks with their attributes to a file that i can easily import into the new autocad. I have created about 200 custom blocks and importing them individually to the Block Manager does not make sense.

 

Can anyone please tell me how can this be done ?

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,211
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 3 (464 Views)

Re: Export Custom Blocks with Attributes ?

06-05-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: stolid

A symbol for AutoCAD Electrical is actually a drawing file.  The attributes will be inside the file along with the graphical portion of the symbol.  I save my custom symbols to a folder with a special name, like UserLib or CustomSymbols.  I just point to this folder with any version of AutoCAD Electrical that I have installed. 

 

Just locate all of your custom symbols and place them in one folder.

 

In case you added your custom symbols to the menu, the menu files are located in the Support folder at C:\Users\Doug McAlexander\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD Electrical 2012\R18.2\enu\Support\User, substituting your name for mine.  There is a menu file for each library, so you only need he one for the library you created or modified (i.e. ACE_JIC_MENU.dat). 

 

If you did add your symbols to the menu there will be icon image files.  These are located in a folder named Images at  C:\Users\Doug McAlexander\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD Electrical 2012\R18.2\enu\Support\Images, again substituting your name for mine.

 

Save a copy of your menu files as a backup.  Note also that when you install a new version of AutoCAD Electrical, you can use the Migration Utility to merge your customizations into the newer version.  You will point the Migration Utility to the files you wish to merge into the newer version.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,098
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 3 of 3 (463 Views)

Re: Export Custom Blocks with Attributes ?

06-05-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: stolid

Doug beat me to it....

 

This does not sound AutoCAD Electrical related. (There is no Block Manager that I am aware of) Are you in the right forum?

 

If it is ACE Related, all you need to do is copy your custom blocks from the folder you have them stored in.

Also copy the .dat files for the symbol libraries to rebuild the Symbol Library.

(Located in C:\Users\{YourName}\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD Electrical 2013\R19.0\enu\Support.  Year and R number will change based on your installation)

You will also have to copy any Symbol icons you created for the menu.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.