AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
blackseabrew
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-03-2007
Message 1 of 3 (519 Views)

Drawing Descriptions: Maximum of 3 Lines?

519 Views, 2 Replies
12-03-2011 07:00 PM

With certain customers we must show their titleblock information as well as ours.  Which for the drawing description means showing the three line desciption twice.  But their are only three drawing description lines to use in the drawing properties form.

 

Is there anyway to address this?  Can I give two different attributes the same name and have AE populate both of them with the same data?

 

Can I indicate tags DD4, DD5 & DD6 in the WDT file and modify the WDP file with additional drawing description lines?  See example below:

 

===PLC CONTROL SYSTEM
===ELECTRICAL SCHEMATIC
===SHEET 7

===PLC CONTROL SYSTEM

===ELECTRICAL SCHEMATIC

===SHEET 7
WC-3445-S07R1.dwg

 

I hope someone understands what I'm asking.  Thanks ahead of time.

Distinguished Contributor
JeffatICS
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎04-06-2004
Message 2 of 3 (516 Views)

Re: Drawing Descriptions: Maximum of 3 Lines?

12-04-2011 06:18 AM in reply to: blackseabrew

As long as the blocks are defined the same they will show the same results. If both your title blocks can display the information block the same but be in different locaitons then that should work.

 

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 1,037
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 3 of 3 (512 Views)

Re: Drawing Descriptions: Maximum of 3 Lines?

12-04-2011 02:15 PM in reply to: blackseabrew

Try pointing the attributes from their block to the same datapoints as your attributes use.

 

for example...

 

Your description line 1 = DD1

Your description line 2 = DD2

Your description line 3 = DD3

 

Their Description Line 1 = DD1

Their Description Line 2 = DD2

Their Description Line 3 = DD3

 

And so on for any other data they need duplicated...

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.