AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
denniscmt
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 1 of 7 (391 Views)
Accepted Solution

Customised electrical symbol for controller module - pin list issue

391 Views, 6 Replies
07-01-2013 05:49 AM

Hi,

 

I am currently working on AcadE 2012. Trying to create symbols of controller module.

 

Parent symbol for I/O controller seem to be fine:

-  simple block wire1 to Master; wire2 and wire3 for continuous connection with linking modules or termination port.

 

Child symbol for the controller is where my problem is

- there is 10 ports on these controller

- types of ports available depend on the type of controller

- ports include UF, AI (analog input; 1,2,3), AI+, AI-, AO (analog output; 1,2,3), AO+, AO-, GND (ground), Earth, NO, C, NC, DI (digital input; 1,2,3),  DI-, DI+

 

Question.

1. In one example, I have input the required pinlist information as (4,UF,AI1,AI2,AI3,GND,E;4,NO,C;4,DI+,DI-:smileywink:

Is this correct?

2. Some of the connection to the instrumentation will require 3 connection, e.g. AI1, AI2, GND

How can I define that in the parent pin list?

3. Some of the ports will be used by multiple instrumentation at one time, e.g. Earth or GND

How can I define that in the parent pin list?

 

Please kindly help me out.


Thanks pal.

 

Regards,

Dennis

 

Hi Dennis,

 

Hmmm that is a bit trickier.

I can see a few options though:

 

Option 1 (the easiest by far)

 

Don't use a pin list.

Simply fill in the pins in the child devices connections when you create it in the Symbol builder. 

You would have 3 versions of the child device, one 2 pin, one 3 pin and one 4 pin.

if you need to update the pins open the device and manual tweak the pins.

 

Option 2

 

Have pin list options for all of your variations

i.e.

0,Ain1,GND;0,AIn2,GND;0,AIn3,GND;5,Ain1,AIn2,GND;5,AIn2,AIn3,GND;5,AIn1,AIn3,GND...etc

(this allows you to have one child and simply call in the used pins. For unused pins use a "-" instead of a space, it Makes it easier for you to troubleshoot later)

 

Option 3

 

Similar to Option 1 have 3 versions of the child device, Embed a Pin list for each child device, use the optional Attribute called "pinlist".

 

 

I hope this helps,

 

James Alger 

Mentor
algerj
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 2 of 7 (365 Views)

Re: Customized electrical symbol for controller module - pin list issue

07-02-2013 07:21 AM in reply to: denniscmt

Hi Dennis,

 

Pin lists can be fun to work with.

Currently you are using "4" as the pintype... Which is for a selector switch.

 

To help you out I'm going to Post the information:

 

0- Convertible Contact (NO or NC)

1- Normally Open (NO)

2- Normally Closed (NC) 

3- Form C Contact (NO,NC,COM)

4- Multiple Pole (for selector switches, it is for Pole States)

5- Multiple Pin (this is for anything with more then 2 pins)

 

it follows a standard format:

 

Pin type, Pin1, Pin2;  (the number of pins varies based on the pin type you use.)

 

In the case of Form-C you will have 4 Entries:

 

Pin Type (3), Pin 1(COM), Pin2 (NO), Pin3 (NC);

 

In the case of Multi-pin you could have any number of pins:

 

Pin Type (5), pin1, pin2, pin3,....Pin#n; 

(There is a limit of 99 pins, for exporting purposes.)

 

I hope this helps,

 

James Alger

 

Active Member
denniscmt
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 3 of 7 (362 Views)

Re: Customized electrical symbol for controller module - pin list issue

07-02-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: algerj

Hi James.

 

Thanks for your reply.

The part I am still not clear is that.

 

if the ports, e.g. AI1 AI2 AI3, will be SOMETIMES used as 2 cable connection

for example. instrumentation connects to control module via 2 cable (AI1 and GND)

but SOMETIMES used as 3 cable or 4 cable connection.

for example, instrumentation connection to control module via 4 cable (AI1, AI2, AI3, GND)

 

Instrumentation like pressure transducer via 4 wire connecting method etc.

 

Would that mean I will be using pin type 5 for most of them connections?

 

 

 

Regards,

Dennis

 

Mentor
algerj
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 4 of 7 (359 Views)

Re: Customized electrical symbol for controller module - pin list issue

07-02-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: denniscmt

Hi Dennis,

 

Hmmm that is a bit trickier.

I can see a few options though:

 

Option 1 (the easiest by far)

 

Don't use a pin list.

Simply fill in the pins in the child devices connections when you create it in the Symbol builder. 

You would have 3 versions of the child device, one 2 pin, one 3 pin and one 4 pin.

if you need to update the pins open the device and manual tweak the pins.

 

Option 2

 

Have pin list options for all of your variations

i.e.

0,Ain1,GND;0,AIn2,GND;0,AIn3,GND;5,Ain1,AIn2,GND;5,AIn2,AIn3,GND;5,AIn1,AIn3,GND...etc

(this allows you to have one child and simply call in the used pins. For unused pins use a "-" instead of a space, it Makes it easier for you to troubleshoot later)

 

Option 3

 

Similar to Option 1 have 3 versions of the child device, Embed a Pin list for each child device, use the optional Attribute called "pinlist".

 

 

I hope this helps,

 

James Alger 

Active Member
denniscmt
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 5 of 7 (332 Views)

Re: Customized electrical symbol for controller module - pin list issue

07-04-2013 02:44 AM in reply to: algerj

Seems like Option 3 makes the most sense to me

 

We're trying to have them listed on the parent as its clearer on the drawing as well.

and then try tracing it through to the children.

 

Plus. there isnt many required combination so its ok.

fingers crossed the outcome would be perfecto.

 

 

Cheers James

 

Active Member
denniscmt
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 6 of 7 (325 Views)

Re: Customized electrical symbol for controller module - pin list issue

07-04-2013 05:36 AM in reply to: denniscmt

Hi James,

 

Got into another obstacles

 

as quoted from your previous post

"...0,Ain1,GND;0,AIn2,GND;0,AIn3,GND;5,Ain1,AIn2,GND;5,AIn2,AIn3,GND;5,AIn1,AIn3,GND...etc..."

 

Is this a correct pinlist input for my situation as per described?

 

If so, why would you use 0 and not 4 for the pin type.

 

 

 

I have put in information as understood.

but the parent symbol has a different outcome.

 

Pinlist input as

4,AI1,GND;4,UF,AI1;5,UF,AI1,AI3;5,UF,AI1,AI2,AI3;5,UF,AI2,AI3,GND;5,UF,AI1,GND;5,UF,AI1,AI2,AI3,GND;5,AI2,AI3,GND;4,NO,C;4,DI+,DI-;

 

Output or recognised by Acad as per attached drawing

 

Mentor
algerj
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 7 of 7 (317 Views)

Re: Customized electrical symbol for controller module - pin list issue

07-04-2013 05:58 AM in reply to: denniscmt

Hi Dennis,

 

0 is a convertible contact, so it would allow you to select it as a NO or NC Contact (even if its not ).

4 is for selector switch states. (typically ON, OFF, AUTO, etc)

It looks like you wanted to list the connections below your symbol.

So either of them can be tailored to work for your needs.

 

4 will pull out the Connections as a state (so they don't normally have a cross ref)

0 will pull out the Connections to the NO or NC attribute that will display where it was used. (it has a cross ref)

(if you have 1 (NO) or 2 (NC) it will only display the information in its corresponding Attribute)

 

Honestly if pin type 4 works for you use it...lol

I just used 0 for my example because I figured you wanted to see the cross ref Info.

 

I hope this helps,

 

James Alger

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.