AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
46 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2005
Post 1 of 6

Connection terminal Prefix

143 Views, 5 Replies
05-10-2006 11:32 AM
Is there a way when creating a custom symbol
That has 4 terminal strips on it each starting with terminal 1
to have ACE2006 prefix the terminal number with terminal strip number for the wire to from reports. I have a servo amplifier with 4 terminal strips. I want the reports to indicate
wire #234 from TB3-2 AMP1 to ....
AMP1 being the servo amp TB3 terminal 2.
I can add the TB3 to the wire connection TERM01 in blackbox builder
But I don't want it to show on the schematic insertion of the componet just in reports.

Anyone have any ideas?
Thanks

Joe
*Expert Elite*
3,225 Posts
291 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Post 2 of 6

Re: Connection terminal Prefix

05-10-2006 01:09 PM in reply to: joechrobak
Can you not set the attribute to invisible? It would show up in reports but not on the drawing. You can also use the show/hide attribute command, click on the geometry of an already inserted symbol, and turn off any attributes you do not want to see for that one occurrence. But if it is always to be invisible, it is best to set the attribute to be invisible. I have the opposite in some cases. My customer wants to see the brand and part number of the components next to the symbol in the schematic. I set the MFG and CAT attributes to visible and size the text to a height that can be seen.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Contributor
46 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2005
Post 3 of 6

Re: Connection terminal Prefix

05-10-2006 01:34 PM in reply to: joechrobak
I understand what you are saying about setting the attributes to invisible.
But in this situation I have 5 servo Drives that are the same
each drive has a TB1 TB2 and TB3 also 3 DB connectors
Using Black Box Builder I developed a symbol for the drive
but when using the wire connections in BBB it only reports the Term# that was assigned . With 3 different TB's all starting with terminal 1 when I run the wiring reports how can I tell which terminal 1 it is? It will say which drive but not which TB.
Does that make a little more sense?

Joe
*Expert Elite*
3,225 Posts
291 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Post 4 of 6

Re: Connection terminal Prefix

05-10-2006 04:46 PM in reply to: joechrobak
Name the connection point TB1:1, TB1:2, TB2:1, TB2:2, etc. This makes them all unique within the component.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
*Expert Elite*
3,225 Posts
291 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Post 5 of 6

Re: Connection terminal Prefix

05-10-2006 05:13 PM in reply to: joechrobak
I will attach an example from one of my projects. The connection point attribute values are TB3:VREF, TB3:CHGND, etc. but they could be TB3:1, TB3:2, etc. and I could have a TB1:1, TB1:2, etc.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
12 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-15-2011
Post 6 of 6

Re: Connection terminal Prefix

04-07-2012 03:30 PM in reply to: joechrobak

Realizing entry is 8 years old, I thought I'd post anyway.  For future reference.

 

In order to show the connection in a From/To list and only show the terminal on the block, do the following:

 

  1. Put the full terminal designator in each TERMXX attribute value. (i.e. TERM01 = TB1-1)
  2. Hide the TERMXX attribute.
  3. Place a X#TERMDESC## attribute at the TERMXX position.
  4. Set the value of X##TERMDESC## equal to the terminal number (no prefix). (i.e. X1TERMDESC01 = 1)
                 or
  5. Place a text string in place of the X##TERMDESC##.

Now a signal report will show "TB1-1" as the connection and the diagram will show "1" as the connection.

 

The down-side to item 4 is that the terminal function (description) is no longer available for use. Using item 5 will leave that available.  It will also allow generic positions applicable to each connector.

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.