AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Member
streetglidewi
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 1 of 3 (275 Views)

changing text size not found in project wide utilities

275 Views, 2 Replies
08-21-2012 02:23 PM

I want to be able to change text height and width for symbol attributes not part of the project wide utilities, such as CAT or FAMILY. Does anyone know how to write a script for this, or does it need to be a lisp file?

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,173
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 3 (267 Views)

Re: changing text size not found in project wide utilities

08-21-2012 05:11 PM in reply to: streetglidewi

You can write a script that calls the AEATTSIZE command and executes it against each attribute.  You will also need to change the visibility status for the attributes, if you wish to see their value displayed on the drawing, which I assume you want,  You can call this script from Project-wide utilities so it can be executed against all drawings.

 

But bear in mind that the default size of these attributes is 0.01 and invisible is set to Yes.  If you change the size you will still need to reposition the attributes so they are not overlaying one another or the symbol graphics.

 

It the end you may be better off modifying the symbol blocks and using the Update Block utility to switch them out.  Note that you will have to do this once for each symbol but it will swap all occurrence of the symbol, project-wide.  After that it's smooth sailing because your library symbols will have the attribute height preset.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Member
streetglidewi
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 3 of 3 (254 Views)

Re: changing text size not found in project wide utilities

08-22-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

I am having problems writing the script. I tried several different ways to write the script (which I have never done before), and had no luck. Any help?

 

 

 

 

 

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.