AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
hanchris
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 1 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Catalog Lookup Freezing

1021 Views, 22 Replies
11-18-2009 01:35 PM
I cannot seem to access any of the catalog tables. I can insert the component just fine and enter in all data on the individual component level; but the second I hit the "Lookup" button AutoCADE freezes on me.

We have our catalog on the server (that I have access to) and I have tried doing this from another computer and it works find. I have turned on the command trace (aeonlispdebug), on the working computer and on the problem computer and it appears the same commands are being run. I have attached a screen image of the problem trace because this causes AutoCADE to freeze. It does not go into a "Not Responding" state, just a frozen (waiting) state.

Under my assessment it looks like everything is running fine in AutoCAD, except for the point where the catalog dialog box is brought up. This would explain, why AutoCAD stays responsive and the catalog file becomes locked out (with an *.ldb file). It looks like it might be a problem with that catalog lookup dialog box.

Is the dialog box that is brought up with the "Lookup" button a .dcl file or some side file like that, which I can possibly search for to see if it is there and/or copy it from another machine?

And I know this next question probably will get me no where; but does anyone have any ideas, leads of what else could be causing this problem? I am using AutoCAD: Electrical 2009 on a 64-bit system, which is actually when the problem started.

Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
hanchris
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 2 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

11-19-2009 06:07 AM in reply to: hanchris
So, for what it is worth it is not just the catalog lookup button that freezes AutoCAD. I tried inputting the information manually and then using the Drawing lookup button (for the next part) and I still get the same error.

Any ideas?
*Pat Murnen \(Autodesk\)
Message 3 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

11-19-2009 07:56 AM in reply to: hanchris
Does this happen for all catalog values selected or specific ones on
specific types of components. I think there was a reported issue related to
values in the catalog database in the TEXTVALUE column.

Pat Murnen

wrote in message news:6291823@discussion.autodesk.com...
So, for what it is worth it is not just the catalog lookup button that
freezes AutoCAD. I tried inputting the information manually and then using
the Drawing lookup button (for the next part) and I still get the same
error.

Any ideas?
Distinguished Contributor
hanchris
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 4 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

11-19-2009 01:03 PM in reply to: hanchris
No, it seems to be happening for all or at least all parts, which I have tried.

Although, just out of curiosity, what is the TEXTVALUE column for since it seems to be blank in a lot (if not all) of the catalogs?
*Pat Murnen \(Autodesk\)
Message 5 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

11-20-2009 03:55 AM in reply to: hanchris
This column allows you to pre-assign attribute values when that particular
catalog is selected. For example, you could preassign a RATING1 value for a
fuse.

Pat Murnen

wrote in message news:6292276@discussion.autodesk.com...
No, it seems to be happening for all or at least all parts, which I have
tried.

Although, just out of curiosity, what is the TEXTVALUE column for since it
seems to be blank in a lot (if not all) of the catalogs?
Employee
HelenChen-Autodesk
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎08-10-2008
Message 6 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

11-26-2009 06:42 PM in reply to: hanchris
Hello Hanchris,

May I ask you some questions about this issue? Thank you very much.

1. I got the information from another catalog lookup issue, seems you are using XP x64 OS which has the problem, right?

2. Is there any other Autodesk product in that problem PC besides ACE 2009 now? Please let me know the products names and versions if there are.

3. Whether there was some previous released ACE installed in that PC? Such as ACE 2007 or 2008, etc.

4. The catalog on the server is shared by your group? And whether you need to access the shared catalog at the same time? If others are not using that shared catalog, whether the problem is still there?

5. You mentioned it works well in another computer, whether that computer install ACE 2009 on x64 bit OS too? Is it XP or Vista OS?

Thanks,
Helen
New Member
hessbs
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2007
Message 7 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

12-03-2009 07:51 AM in reply to: hanchris
I noticed this also and remembered that I had to set a couple of defaults in the options/files tab/Support file search path. Try setting the catalog lookup as one of the top settings in the series. When I did this, the catalog lookup did not lockup or delay in looking for the catalog database files.
Distinguished Contributor
hanchris
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 8 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

12-03-2009 07:00 PM in reply to: hanchris
Helen,
1. Yes that is correct

2. I have standard AutoCAD 2009 (not the one that comes with Electrical). I also have AutoCAD Electrical 2010 and it is happening on both. I also have the other "free" programs that come with Electrical (Vault, TrueView, etc)

3. There have been no other previous releases since I got XP 64-bit, which was a reformat


4. It is on the network that is secured but I have write access. Also when I have the issue I know it tries to open the database because the LDB file come on. I then have to sign onto a 32-bit machine to unlock the database.

5. The only other computer I have tested this on is on a 32-bit XP machine, with AutoCADE 2009 and 2010.
Distinguished Contributor
hanchris
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 9 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

12-03-2009 07:01 PM in reply to: hanchris
Thanks, I will try that when I get back. I am currently at Autodesk's University.
Employee
HelenChen-Autodesk
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎08-10-2008
Message 10 of 23 (1,021 Views)

Re: Catalog Lookup Freezing

12-08-2009 06:14 AM in reply to: hanchris
Hello Hanchris,

Wish you have a great time in AU!

I tried with some side-by-side products about this issue, but so far this issue is not able to reproduce in my test machines.
However I will have a try with your with the products you mentioned on XP x64 OS again and keep you updated.
In your XP x32 bit OS the one with ACADE 2009 and 2010, there is no such issue, right?

And do you mind if there are some screenshots or video for this issue based on your XP x64 OS for me reference?

Best regards,
Helen
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.