AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jmatt05
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 1 of 9 (1,102 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

1102 Views, 8 Replies
03-13-2012 12:57 PM

I switched the icon menu library to ACE_IEC_menu.dat so that I could use the VRT1 icon in my drawing. But when I use the icon menu and choose VRT1, it says file can't be found. What am I missing in order for AutoCAD to insert the icon into my drawing. I attached a picture of the error. 

I found the folders in another location. It's apparently stored in the Autodesk folder shown below. 

untitled.JPG

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 921
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 2 of 9 (1,096 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-13-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: jmatt05

You must also set up the project to search the IEC2 or IEC4 (the difference between the two of them is the size of the attributes) folder, so that it can find this VTR1.dwg.

 

PropProp.PNG

 

 


Trond Hasse Lie
ECAD Consultant
CtrlAltEl

Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Contributor
jmatt05
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 3 of 9 (1,083 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-14-2012 04:58 AM in reply to: rhesusminus

There is no IEC2 or IEC4 folders. Do I have to install those libraries or are the somewhere else? I've attached a picture of what I have in that folder. 

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 921
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 4 of 9 (1,077 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-14-2012 05:07 AM in reply to: jmatt05

Hi.

 

Try going to the control panel in WIndows, and locate AutoCAD Electrical 2012.

Select Change/Uninstall, and select Add or Remove features.

 

In one of the steps that follows, you should be able to add the IEC symbol libraries as well:

SymLib.PNG


Trond Hasse Lie
ECAD Consultant
CtrlAltEl

Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Contributor
jmatt05
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 5 of 9 (1,067 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-14-2012 05:26 AM in reply to: rhesusminus

I found the folders in another location. It's apparently stored in the Autodesk folder shown below. 

untitled.JPG

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 921
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 6 of 9 (1,065 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-14-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: jmatt05
That seems to be the location were you installed your downloaded(?) AutoCAD Electrical from. However... Just copy those folders to the same location as your other symbol libraries.

Trond Hasse Lie
ECAD Consultant
CtrlAltEl

Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Contributor
jmatt05
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 7 of 9 (1,060 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-14-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: rhesusminus

Ok so I copied it over and got it working. Do you have an issue with icons being really large like shown below? Would you know how to fix this? This component is VRT1. 

 

untitled.JPG

*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 921
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 8 of 9 (1,057 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-14-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: jmatt05
All IEC symbols are made in metric units. You'll have to scale them down whem inserting then in a drawing created in imperial units. Try a lower scale factor in the insert component dialog (look at the bottom of this dialog).

Trond Hasse Lie
ECAD Consultant
CtrlAltEl

Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
Contributor
jmatt05
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-02-2012
Message 9 of 9 (1,055 Views)

Re: Can't find VRT1 from IEC icon menu dat file

03-14-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: rhesusminus

Ok thanks that worked. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.