AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
STEVENAR
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 1 of 6 (286 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cable Markers

286 Views, 5 Replies
04-22-2013 08:00 AM

Hi,

 

It is possible to link cable marker tags to component tags. So that when a component tag is changed the cable marker tag is also changed.

 

Thanks in advance.

Distinguished Contributor
John
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎02-03-2005
Message 2 of 6 (276 Views)

Re: Cable Markers

04-22-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: STEVENAR

Don't think so. But someone might correct me! Standing by to learn something.

Valued Contributor
STEVENAR
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 3 of 6 (241 Views)

Re: Cable Markers

04-24-2013 02:48 AM in reply to: John

Is it possible to make cable markers invisible?

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,088
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 4 of 6 (227 Views)

Re: Cable Markers

04-24-2013 07:04 AM in reply to: STEVENAR

You can make cable markers invisible by editing the dwg and doing a swap block.  the cable marker value will still be there when doing any reports though.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Valued Contributor
STEVENAR
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 5 of 6 (220 Views)

Re: Cable Markers

04-24-2013 08:07 AM in reply to: testsubject

I do know how to edit a symol and make an attribute invisible. However not sure how to make the symbol invisible. Please can you advise how to edit a block and make the symbol invisible.

 

Thanks again.

Mentor
algerj
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎02-25-2010
Message 6 of 6 (215 Views)

Re: Cable Markers

04-24-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: STEVENAR

Hi Steve,

 

Option 1:

 

You could have the component drive the marker if you made it a child component.

But that means you would need a child cable marker for every component that the marker would "Pull" its tag from.

I'm not sure I would go through the trouble unless I really had to.

 

Option 2:

 

To hide the tag, this can be done a few different ways.

 

You can use the Hide Attribute Command (single or Group whichever works best for the Situation).

Or

You can  edit the component (As stated by Bob), Hide the text.

To hide the text set the attributes to invisible in the attributes properties.

 

Option 3:

 

Hide the component itself. 

 

To hide the component delete the geometry (or draw a straight line with wire connections on both sides) and leave the attributes.

 

I hope this helps,

 

James Alger

SolidCAD

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.