AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Yeletah
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 1 of 8 (178 Views)
Accepted Solution

cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

178 Views, 7 Replies
10-18-2011 05:16 AM

Hi

 

Last problem

 

my multicore is spread over 3  sheets, i am using hd2l_ref to connect them (all the same sigcode)

 

all works fine

 

for the cable report to work correctly, i needed to put 1 cable marker on the multicore on each sheet (3 in total in project)

 

but the audit throws up a duplication cable marker error,

 

I can ignore the audit error

 

any advice is great

 

Thanks

Steve

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 8 (172 Views)

Re: cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

10-18-2011 05:34 AM in reply to: Yeletah

Therein lies the rub. ACE expects only 1 source/destination pair. I am unsure of how to get around this. It does "allow" you to have 1 source/many destinations, but squawks about it. You might have to ignore this error. Anyone have anything to add??

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Valued Contributor
Yeletah
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 3 of 8 (170 Views)

Re: cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

10-18-2011 05:40 AM in reply to: Yeletah

 

 

The number of source & destination objects are equal, i.e. one source has one dedicated destination but not on the same sheet. 

 

Steve

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 4 of 8 (167 Views)

Re: cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

10-18-2011 06:18 AM in reply to: Yeletah

I misread the OP.

 

I think this will work. Pick one of the cable markers as the parent and on the other drawings, make the other cable markers children.

 

I tested it and it did not through a cable error....

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Valued Contributor
Yeletah
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 5 of 8 (163 Views)

Re: cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

10-18-2011 06:37 AM in reply to: Yeletah

 

How did you make a parent cable marker a child?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 6 of 8 (159 Views)

Re: cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

10-18-2011 07:59 AM in reply to: Yeletah

In the Cable Marker section (Icon Menu/Miscellaneous/Cable Markers) there is a selection for "2+ Child Marker". Use this in the second and third drawings in your package in place of the parent marker you already have. I would just delete the current cable markers and re-insert using the child one and then select the parent cable marker on the first page (assuming the first drawing has the source arrow for the cable.)

 

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Valued Contributor
Yeletah
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 7 of 8 (143 Views)

Re: cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

10-19-2011 12:43 AM in reply to: Yeletah

 

Success!

:smileyhappy:

Thanks

Steve

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 8 of 8 (134 Views)

Re: cable marker duplication - last glitch observed

10-19-2011 04:39 AM in reply to: Yeletah

Glad I could help!

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.