AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
electcad
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-13-2014
Message 1 of 5 (407 Views)
Accepted Solution

BOM does not update after I have changed a part number.

407 Views, 4 Replies
02-17-2014 03:42 PM

BOM does not update after I have changed a part number. I have gone into edit and changed an items part number. I then go into the schematic reports and generate the BOM again and when I check the list the item has not updated. The only way I have been getting around this so that it updates, is to close the project and re-open it. Has anyone got an idea of how to solve this problem?

 

AutoCad Electrical 2014

Maybe a few things to try:

 

1: From the main toolbar/pull down menu: Projects -> Project-> Rebuild/Refresh Project database < Full rebuild > and/or sometimes closing and re-opening the project will solve the issue. - Or -

 

2: Close electrical, navigate to your "C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD Electrical 2014\R19.1\enu\Support\User" folder and locate the project .mdb file.  Delete it and re-open your Electrical project.  This will re-build the project database.

 

Hope this may help you in finding a solution....

 

Omar

If this solves your problem, remember, "kudos" are appreciated...

 

 

 

 

Thanks Omar

 

The project rebuild option worked.

 

Regards

Chris 

Omar, you are so right!  I add the Rebuild/Freshen Command back to the ribbon menu and teach how in every class I teach, because it is so very necessary for many functions of the software. It should have been put on the ribbon menu.  

 

There are often lags before the database manager can catch up to the drawing edits.  This can be devastating when you generate a report, only to find out from your panel shop later that parts are missing or incorrect.  Be especially careful when building subassemblies via the Multiple Catalog list.  If you a subassembly assignment via Multiple Catalog on the schematic component symbol, verify that the change was actually written to the related footprint symbol.  If you create your BOM from the panel layout, to ensure that the enclosure, DIN rail, wire duct, etc. appear in the BOM, your panel BOM might have inaccuracies.

 

I use the CUI editor to add it between Update/Retag and Utilities (see attached).  After you add it to the menu, be sure to edit the settings as shown in the attachment, so the icon appears large with the text below it.

Active Contributor
opavlica
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-16-2003
Message 2 of 5 (382 Views)

Re: BOM does not update after I have changed a part number.

02-18-2014 05:30 AM in reply to: electcad

Maybe a few things to try:

 

1: From the main toolbar/pull down menu: Projects -> Project-> Rebuild/Refresh Project database < Full rebuild > and/or sometimes closing and re-opening the project will solve the issue. - Or -

 

2: Close electrical, navigate to your "C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD Electrical 2014\R19.1\enu\Support\User" folder and locate the project .mdb file.  Delete it and re-open your Electrical project.  This will re-build the project database.

 

Hope this may help you in finding a solution....

 

Omar

If this solves your problem, remember, "kudos" are appreciated...

 

 

 

 

Contributor
electcad
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-13-2014
Message 3 of 5 (367 Views)

Re: BOM does not update after I have changed a part number.

02-18-2014 02:54 PM in reply to: opavlica

Thanks Omar

 

The project rebuild option worked.

 

Regards

Chris 

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,181
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 5 (360 Views)

Re: BOM does not update after I have changed a part number.

02-18-2014 05:33 PM in reply to: opavlica

Omar, you are so right!  I add the Rebuild/Freshen Command back to the ribbon menu and teach how in every class I teach, because it is so very necessary for many functions of the software. It should have been put on the ribbon menu.  

 

There are often lags before the database manager can catch up to the drawing edits.  This can be devastating when you generate a report, only to find out from your panel shop later that parts are missing or incorrect.  Be especially careful when building subassemblies via the Multiple Catalog list.  If you a subassembly assignment via Multiple Catalog on the schematic component symbol, verify that the change was actually written to the related footprint symbol.  If you create your BOM from the panel layout, to ensure that the enclosure, DIN rail, wire duct, etc. appear in the BOM, your panel BOM might have inaccuracies.

 

I use the CUI editor to add it between Update/Retag and Utilities (see attached).  After you add it to the menu, be sure to edit the settings as shown in the attachment, so the icon appears large with the text below it.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
electcad
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-13-2014
Message 5 of 5 (331 Views)

Re: BOM does not update after I have changed a part number.

02-19-2014 01:54 PM in reply to: dougmcalexander
Thanks Doug

I have added the Rebuild Freshen Database to my custom ribbon as suggested.
Regards
Chris
Australia
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.