AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
johnq
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 1 of 3 (196 Views)
Accepted Solution

BoM Data base

196 Views, 2 Replies
01-19-2012 02:52 PM

There are only a few if the items in the standard data base as supplied on the install disk that are used by my company.

 

To reduce search time i would like to have a company specific .mdb file and from that file create a project specific .mdb.

 

There by having a company data base of items and a project specific bom.

 

Is this possible?

 

If so, how?   I do not fine the help feature informative.

 

Cheers  john q

Thanks for your reply Zac

 

I have created the files as suggested and I have completed my first BOM.  Another small step.

 

Cheers  jq

Product Support
zalant
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎11-01-2005
Message 2 of 3 (178 Views)

Re: BoM Data base

01-20-2012 04:08 PM in reply to: johnq

Indeed, this is possible.  First, when you installed AutoCAD Electrical, you selected manufacturer content to include.  From that, the default_cat.mdb file was populated with items from those various companies.  If you were to go back through Add/Remove Features (Windows Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs (XP) or Programs and Features (Vista/7) > AutoCAD Electrical) and deselect all but one of those companies, then the rest of the catalog entries would be removed from the default_cat.mdb file, making the resultant MDB file much smaller and quicker to search.

 

Alternately, you can indeed create project-specific catalog lookup database files.  Lookup the command AECREATEPROJCATALOG in AutoCAD Electrical's Help file.  It creates a database file with the current project's name and will include only the components which have already been used in the current project.

 

If desired, you could then take that new MDB file, rename it to default_cat.mdb and replace the existing one that resides in the C:\Users\<username>\Documents\AcadE 2012\AeData\catalogs directory (Win Vista/7) or in C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\My Documents\AcadE 2012\AeData\catalogs (Win XP).

 

With regard to adding or removing entries from catalog lookup databases, see the following Help item:

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/AutoCAD_Electrical/enu/2012/Help/0888-Tutorial888/0923-Schemati923/0932...



Zac Travis
Mentor
johnq
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 3 of 3 (153 Views)

Re: BoM Data base

01-24-2012 02:37 PM in reply to: zalant

Thanks for your reply Zac

 

I have created the files as suggested and I have completed my first BOM.  Another small step.

 

Cheers  jq

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.