AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
fdna49
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 1 of 4 (122 Views)

Automatic catalog number change

122 Views, 3 Replies
02-08-2007 06:19 AM
Hello,
Due to a supplier no longer making a part I must change a part number on hundreds of existing drawings. The catalog number must be changed for the item, and in the BOM on the drawing. Is anyone aware of a way to do this automatically?

Thanks
Chad
Distinguished Contributor
Peter_KSBE
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎02-10-2006
Message 2 of 4 (122 Views)

Re: Automatic catalog number change

02-08-2007 08:08 AM in reply to: fdna49
First step is to make sure the new part number is in the catalog database.

If these drawings are in one project this could go quick, but if it are several projects it could take some more time.


You have several options:
1) update with Access the project(s) scratch database and use the "Update from Project Scratch Database". Don't know if it will update the BOM on a drawing directly, don't think so.

2) write a script and use the "Project-Wide Utilities" to start it in a project

3) use the export to excel on components. Adjust your value and reimport it. Don't know if it will update the BOM on a drawing directly, don't think so.

4) modify this utility from Nate Holt to change the attributes you want it to change.
http://mfgcommunity.autodesk.com/blogs/blog/7/
Distinguished Contributor
fdna49
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 3 of 4 (122 Views)

Re: Automatic catalog number change

02-08-2007 10:15 AM in reply to: fdna49
Peter_KSBE,
Thanks for your speedy reply!

I was slightly incorrect in using the term "drawings", its actually hundreds of projects that need to be updated.
I also just realized that the footprint on the panel layouts has to change also.

Again, thanks for your reply - I will look at the and see what works the best for me.

I see alot of references to "script files" in the groups - any idea where I can find our more about them?

Chad
Distinguished Contributor
Peter_KSBE
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎02-10-2006
Message 4 of 4 (122 Views)

Re: Automatic catalog number change

02-08-2007 11:53 PM in reply to: fdna49
Hi Chad,

Scripts are actually nothing else than plain autocad commands which will be run after each other.

Here below you can see an example for changing attributes:
-attedit
N
N
*
TAGSTRIP
*
VDC
Vdc
-attedit
N
N
*
RATING1
*
MA
mA

You need to make it with notepad and the extension is .SCR. In the help of autocad type "script" and there you also can find info. Also googeling arround can help you.

You can also open drawings with it, adjust, and save.
Most of the commands you will need to put an "-" in front to invoke command line execution.

Best practice is to open a drawing and stat ajusting it with the command line commands, note them down. Don't save the drawing, close it make the scr file and run the script to try.
If ok, then you can use it to open more drawings and adjust them. This means that for every drawing you must repeat all the commands in the script.
EXAMPLE:
open
c:\huppeldepup\test1.dwg
line
100,100
150,150
save
y
open
c:\huppeldepup\test2.dwg
line
100,100
150,150
save
y

If you google arround, think you can even find script generators, where you provide the script for one drawing, they can process it for the drawings you provide. (google for "autocad scripts batch")

Peter
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.