AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
*Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
Message 1 of 11 (135 Views)

AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

135 Views, 10 Replies
01-20-2005 11:57 AM
AutoCAD Electrical 2005 Users... We have a new service pack available. You should be able to get to this service pack by following the links through the communication center (if you have it enabled). The product website on autodesk.com can also direct you to the service pack. The links on the product website are referenced for you here as well: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=4199154 Regards, Scott Reese Product Manager - AutoCAD Electrical Manufacturing Solutions Division
Contributor
gpbuttke
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 2 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-24-2005 12:22 PM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
SCOTT:

I installed the AutoCAD Electrical 2005 Service Pack 1 today and the install, which completed without any errors, blew away my auth. code for my ADN ACE 2005 license.

Is that "as designed" ...

Glenn Buttke
Rockwell Automation
- 212 Seats of ACE and Expanding Globally ...
*Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
Message 3 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-24-2005 01:54 PM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
Hi Glenn, No, this is not the intention. I talked to the QA department and we were stretching for what would have caused this to happen since we haven't seen it in any of our testing. The only thing we could think of centers around when the install process asks you for the ACE2005 CD. We were wondering if you might have inserted a commercial CD when applying the SP1 to the ADN installed version. In any case, you shouldn't see this when you deploy it on your commercial versions. Let us know if you notice any more unexpected behaviors so we can dig into it further. Sorry for the inconvenience. Regards, Scott ========= "gpbuttke" wrote in message news:31934805.1106598195315.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > SCOTT: > > I installed the AutoCAD Electrical 2005 Service Pack 1 today and the install, which completed without any errors, blew away my auth. code for my ADN ACE 2005 license. > > Is that "as designed" ... > > Glenn Buttke > Rockwell Automation > - 212 Seats of ACE and Expanding Globally ...
*dns
Message 4 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-24-2005 04:44 PM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
What are the updates? according the the readme file it only addresses automatic wire numbers? I was hoping for a fix to the conduit fill math. "Scott Reese (Autodesk)" wrote in message news:41f00d31_3@newsprd01... > AutoCAD Electrical 2005 Users... > > We have a new service pack available. > > You should be able to get to this service pack by following the links > through the communication center (if you have it enabled). > > The product website on autodesk.com can also direct you to the service > pack. > The links on the product website are referenced for you here as well: > > AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 > http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=4199154 > > Regards, > > Scott Reese > Product Manager - AutoCAD Electrical > Manufacturing Solutions Division > >
Contributor
gpbuttke
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 5 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-24-2005 05:22 PM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
The ADN install was a "commercial" CD of ACADE 2005, using an ADN serial number, authorized "VIA" [no pun intended] ADESK.

Will try an install of a "regular" S/N of ACE 2005, auth. it, then apply the SP1 to see the results next.

I will also re-install one of our ADN's to see if the problem repeats itself.
Contributor
gpbuttke
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 6 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-25-2005 06:39 AM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
SCOTT:

Even though AutoDesk Product Registration "confirmed" the authorization code DOES expire when AutoCAD is service packed, I found with the new build I did, the software stayed authorized.

Glenn Buttke
Rockwell Automation
*Steve Kemp \(Autodesk\)
Message 7 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-25-2005 08:19 AM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
Gleen, We are looking into this but I had a few questions. Have you only tried this with an ADN serial number or have you tried it with both an ADN and a Commercial serial number and received the same results, it forcing you to get a new Auth code? Thanks, Steve "gpbuttke" wrote in message news:311689.1106663984011.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > SCOTT: > > Confirmed by AutoDesk Product Registration ... > Authorization code DOES expire when AutoCAD is service packed. > > Getting a new auth. code "as we speak" ... > > Glenn Buttke > Rockwell Automation
Contributor
gpbuttke
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 8 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-25-2005 10:56 AM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
ORIGINAL INSTALL SCENARIO:

- Install ACE 2005 from "commercial" CD
- Used ADN Serial Number
- Authorized ADN through ADESK
- Did Testing for several days.
------
- ACE 2005 SP1 available [1-20-2005]
- Downloaded SP1
- Installed without any errors
- Rebooted PC
- Launched ACE 2005 w/SP1
- ACE: "Please wait while your license is being verified"
- ACE: "IMPORTANT - You must activate your product before you can use it".
- ACE: ERROR [15.1.54]
- ACE: "Activate your product" or "End Session"

- - - - - -

NEW INSTALL

- Uninstalled ACE 2005
- Installed once again from a "commercial" CD
- Used standalone serial number
- Auth'd by Autodesk
- Used ACE for "a while"
- Applied SP1
- Rebooted PC
- ACE 2005 w/SP1 this time had no problems

When getting the authorization code talking to the ADESK support person, she indicated that Service Packs DO NEED new authorization codes based on the customers she has talked to.

Well, with the 2nd install, the authorization code was NOT needed after applying SP1.

Very inconsistent results.

Glenn Buttke
Rockwell Automation
*Steve Kemp \(Autodesk\)
Message 9 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-25-2005 01:57 PM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
Glenn, I asked someone here about this that works with serial numbers and authorizations, and he said that on some occasions the licensing technology that we are using does cause a person to re-authorize there product after some system and/or software configuration changes happen. He said we are hoping to make this licensing technology less sensitive to issue like this. This is not normal behavior though. The majority of the time, you should not be asked to re-authorize your package. Sorry for the inconvenience. Steve "gpbuttke" wrote in message news:13996568.1106679415701.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > ORIGINAL INSTALL SCENARIO: > > - Install ACE 2005 from "commercial" CD > - Used ADN Serial Number > - Authorized ADN through ADESK > - Did Testing for several days. > ------ > - ACE 2005 SP1 available [1-20-2005] > - Downloaded SP1 > - Installed without any errors > - Rebooted PC > - Launched ACE 2005 w/SP1 > - ACE: "Please wait while your license is being verified" > - ACE: "IMPORTANT - You must activate your product before you can use it". > - ACE: ERROR [15.1.54] > - ACE: "Activate your product" or "End Session" > > - - - - - - > > NEW INSTALL > > - Uninstalled ACE 2005 > - Installed once again from a "commercial" CD > - Used standalone serial number > - Auth'd by Autodesk > - Used ACE for "a while" > - Applied SP1 > - Rebooted PC > - ACE 2005 w/SP1 this time had no problems > > When getting the authorization code talking to the ADESK support person, she indicated that Service Packs DO NEED new authorization codes based on the customers she has talked to. > > Well, with the 2nd install, the authorization code was NOT needed after applying SP1. > > Very inconsistent results. > > Glenn Buttke > Rockwell Automation
Contributor
gpbuttke
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 10 of 11 (135 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical 2005 SP1 Now Available

01-26-2005 10:11 AM in reply to: *Scott Reese \(Autodesk\)
STEVE:

Thanks for the followup on the SP1/Authorization process.

- Glenn
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.